Huron County, OhioEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Huron County Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records
Coordinates: 41.15°0′N 82.60°0′W / 41.15°N 82.6°W / 41.15; -82.6
Huron County, Ohio
Map
Map of Ohio highlighting Huron County
Location in the state of Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Huron County, Ohio Courthouse.JPG
Address Huron County Courthouse
2 East Main St.
Norwalk, Ohio 44857
Huron County Website
United States Gotoarrow.png OhioGotoarrow.png Huron County


Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1867
1818
1867
1809
1815
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Portage, and Cuyahoga Counties 7 February 1809.
  • County Seat: Norwalk



Neighboring Counties

Erie County  • Lorain County  • Ashland County  • Richland County  • Crawford County  • Seneca County  • Sandusky County


Huron CountySandusky CountySeneca CountyLucas CountyErie CountyLorain CountyMedina CountyWayne CountyOttawa CountyWyandot CountyCrawford CountyRichland CountyAshland CountyCuyahoga CountyOHHuron1.JPG


Boundary Changes

This area was first known as the Firelands region at is creation in 1815.  The county of Huron covered up much wider area.  The northern regions are now part of Erie and Ottawa counties.  Ruggles township in the south is not part of Ashland County.

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Ninevah Cemetery


Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Catholic
  • 1796–2004 Ohio, Diocese of Toledo, Catholic Parish Records, 1796-2004 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection includes images of parish registers recording the events of baptism, first communion, confirmation, marriage, and death in the Diocese of Toledo (Ohio), Roman Catholic Church. These records are accessed by browsing the images by county. In addition to traditional parish registers, this collection includes miscellaneous cemetery records, Books of the Elect, Professions of Faith, Sick Call registers, etc.
Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Norwalk, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Huron County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Huron County Courthouse
2 East Main Street
Norwalk, OH 44857
General Hours: Monday through Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Huron County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed. County Recorder
12 East Main St.
Norwalk, OH, First floor
419-668-1916

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Huron County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Ohhuron.jpg

Military

  • Civil War service men from Huron County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed with men from Huron County.
- 1st Independent Battery, Ohio Light Artillery, a battery is like a company in an artillery regiment.
- 24th Regiment, Ohio Infantry , Companies A and G
- 41st Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies G and H
- 107th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company H
- 123rd Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies B, C, and E
- 166th Regiment, Ohio Infantry (National Guard), Companies B, C, and H

County recorder- 12 East Main St., Norwalk, OH, First Floor 419-668-1916, Soliders' discharge- Civil War to present, Soldiers' burial- miscellaneous

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Huron County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.

Online Newspapers

Online Newspaper Abstracts

Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Huron County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Huron County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

All records are located at the county courthouse in Norwalk.

  • 1815 to present - Guardianship records
  • 1815 to present - Settlement records
  • 1815 to present - Appointment of Administrator/Executor
  • 1815 to present - Estate packets
  • 1823 to 1976 - Clergy registration
  • 1851 to present - Civil Docket
  • 1851 to present - Court Journal
  • 1851 to present - Final Records
  • early to present - Doctor registration
Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Huron County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Ohio Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Huron County Courthouse
2 East Main Street
Norwalk, OH 44857
Phone: 419.668.4383
General Hours : 8:30 am - 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday
Closed Saturday and Sunday
Probate Judge has birth and death records 1867-1908,
marriage and probate records from 1815 and naturalization
records from 1859; City and County Health Department have
birth and death records from 1908; County Clerk has court 
records from 1815, divorce and naturalization records 1859;
County Recorder has land records from 1808, Connecticut
Fire Sufferers records 1792-1808 and military records from 1865;
County Auditor has tax records from 1820; County Historical 
 Library has infirmary records 1848-1900, tax records 1815-1825,
County Commission journals from 1815, land partition records
1815-1920, county militia lists 1864-1865 and indigent soldier burial
indigent soldier burial records 1880-1920[2]

Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries
  • Monroeville Public Library- 34 Monroe St., Monroveville, OH   44847, 419-465-2035, www.monroevillepubliclibrary.com
  • Norwalk Public Library- 46 W. Main St. Norwalk, OH 44857, 419-668-6063, www.norwalk.lib.oh.us
  • New London Public Library- 67 S Main St, New London, OH   44851, 419-929-3981, www.nwlondon@oplin.org
Museums
Societies
  • The Firelands Historical Society- 4 Case Ave. Norwalk, OH , This is the second oldest historical society in Ohio.  Founded in 1857.
  • Laning-Young Research Center- 9 Case Ave, Norwalk, OH- firelandsmuseum.org- Currently holds over 4,000 books related to the area.  Primary focus is the history and people of the Firelands.  Large local manuscript and newspaper collection.  Complete collection of Firelands Pioneer which has been printed since 1858 and deals with local history.
  • Milan Historical Musuem, Inc.- 10 Edison Dr, Milan, OH   44846, 419-499-2968
  • New London Area Historical Society, 13 Main St., New London, OH 
  • Plymouth Area Historical Society, 15 Sandusky St., Willard, OH 44890, 419-687-5411
  • Ohio Genealogcial Society- Huron Chapter, PO Box 923, Norwalk, OH   44857

Taxation

County Auditor
12 East Main Street, Third Floor
Norwalk, OH 44857
419-668-4304

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Huron County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Huron County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Huron County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Huron County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

  • 20th century births - Willard Area Births & Obituaries extracted birth announcements from the Chicago Times and Willard Times from the Extension Library District of Huron County; mostly 1900s. Courtesy OhioGenWeb


Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records


Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

  • 1835-1851 - death notices from Huron County newspapers The Experiment and Norwalk Experiment newspapers, Norwalk, Ohio - 20 Aug 1835 - 31 Dec 1850. Courtesy OhioGenWeb
  • 1908-1953 - Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
  • various years - community contributed death records Courtesy OhioGenWeb Archives

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Divorce Records are located at the Clerk of Courts same address as above.  Divorce records 1900 to present.  Some records are located on microfiche from 1815 to present. Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Huron County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Web Sites

Places

Populated Places

  • Bellevue
  • Greenwich
  • Milan
  • Monroeville
  • New London
  • North Fairfield
  • Norwalk
  • Plymouth
  • Wakeman


References

  1. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Huron County, Ohio. Page 543 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 21:33.
  • This page has been accessed 19,791 times.