Hursley, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Hursley

Guide to Hursley, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hursley, Hampshire
Hursley Church.png
Hursley Church
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buddlesgate
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Hursley PLU
Registration District Winchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1600
Bishop's Transcripts: 1701
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winchester
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Hursley with Otterbourne, Merdon and Silkstead; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HURSLEY (All Saints), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Buddlesgate, Winchester and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 4½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Winchester.[1].

Resources

Hursley Church 17th cent bell tower.jpg

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hursley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FS = FamilySearch - free[6]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[7]
HURSLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1775-1859, 1868-1876
1767-1876

BOYD
1600-1837

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG 1780-1837
1780-1837
1780-1837
FS 1599-1774
1600-1876

PRTS 1780-1851
1600-1838
1780-1851


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288803.

Genealogy From Periodicals

Whitlock Family Tree. A Family tree starting with Stephen Whitlock, born 1766 and showing all his descendants up to 1983. Some in the parish of Bishopstoke, Bursledon, Hound, Hursley, Soton, Stoneham, and Australia. Article to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, Vol.X.no.2, Aug.1983,page 65, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Nowell, Frederick.  The Lavingtons.  Article begins with the birth of Nicholas Lavington born 1721, and the history of descendants, dating from 1721-1852.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XV,no.2, August 1988, pages 100-102.  Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Kimber, Judy. More About The Lavingtons.  A further article showing one of the ancestors has descendants living in Australia, who emigrated there in 1853.  Includes more of the family in England, covering dates 1538-1853. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XV,no.3, November 1988, pages 166-167, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 591-594. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 24 September 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  5. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  6. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 April 2014, at 15:02.
  • This page has been accessed 2,912 times.