Hurst, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Hurst, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hurst, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ashton Under Lyne PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton Under Lyne
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

HURST, an ecclesiastical [chapelry], in the division of Hartshead, and in parish and union of Ashton-under-Lyne, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 1 mile northeast from Ashton-under-Lyne. The church, dedicated to St. John the Evangelist, was commenced in 1847. It stands near Hurst Cross, another small village in the parish. A place of worship belonging to the New Connexion of Methodists has been erected here.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Hurst chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Ashton under Lyne to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
HURST Chapelry (1849) Indexes
  Baptisms Marriages   Burials 
AC 1849-1915 1849-1930 1849-1976
LOPC None 1849-1907/banns to 1880  1849-1916
ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST MICHAEL(ancient parish containing HURST Chapelry)
Baptisms  (1594)        Marriages (1594)    Burials (1596)
FS 1594-1843 1754-1837 None
LOPC None 1754-1844 1892-1908
AC 1594-1720 1594-1720 1594-1720


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Hurst and comprising the whole ancient parish of Ashton under Lyne to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST MICHAEL PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306917.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. [A Topographical Dictionary of England] by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 591-594. Adapted.Date accessed: 21 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 3,265 times.