Hurstbourne Tarrant, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Hurstbourne Tarrant

Guide to Hurstbourne Tarrant, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hurstbourne Tarrant, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pastrow
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Andover PLU
Registration District Andover
Records begin
Parish registers: 1546
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Andover
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HURSTBOURN-TARRANT (St. Peter), a parish,in the union of Andover, hundred of Pastrow, Kingsclere and N. divisions of the county of Southampton,5½ miles (N. by E.) from Andover; containing the tything of Brickleton. The village is pleasantly situated on the road from Newbury to Andover. The parish was annexed with that of Vernham-Dean (which also see).[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Indexes

Online indexes exist for the ancient parish of Hurstbourne Tarrant. The data content can be searched at the following website[s] and ranges of years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FS = FamilySearch - free[6]
GENUKI = GENUKI - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[10]
HURSTBOURNE TARRANT PARISH (1546) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1546-1876
1547-1837

BOYD
1546-1812

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG
1564-1812

FS 1546-1876 1546-1837 (gaps)
GENUKI
1546-1812

JOIN
1546-1812

PALL
1546-1812

PRTS 1799-1812
1799-1812
1799-1812

.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288796.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 591-594. Date accessed: 28 June 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 24 September 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  5. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  6. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  7. Phillimore Hampshire Parish Marriage Registers, Vol. 1 (1900). Digitised by GENUKI - free.
  8. 'Hampshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  10. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,352 times.