Hurstpierpoint, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Hurstpierpoint, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hurstpierpoint, Sussex
Holy Trinity Hurstpierpoint West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buttinghill
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Cuckfield PLU
Registration District Cuckfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HURST-PIERREPOINT (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Cuckfield, hundred of Buttinghill, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 9 miles (N.) from Brighton; The Independents and Wesleyans have each a place of worship.[1]


Hurstpierpoint Holy Trinity is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex. Other places in the parish include: Sayers Common.  The civil parish of Hurstpierpoint with Sayers Common is in the Mid Sussex district of West Sussex.

Hustpierpoint St George was formed as a chapelry in this parish. The history of both churches is found at Hurstpierpoint Holy Trinity and St George

The parish church of Holy Trinity has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

The church of St George has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Hurstpierpoint Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) includes other places of Worship

The parish of Christ Church Sayers Common was formed from this parish see Sayers Common Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) and Christ Church Sayers Common

See also:  Hurstpierpoint Wikipedia and list of places of Worship in Mid Sussex Wikipedia

A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 591-594. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
West Sussex
Centralized Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
01243 642122

Church records

Hurstpierpoint, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
Hurstpierpoint, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1559-1812

IGI 1558-1877 1559-1876
PRTS 1558-1901
1559-1903
1558-1901

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1558-1978 Marr 1559-1969 Bur 1558-1972 Bishop's Transcripts 1607-1894

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hurstpierpoint

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160.

[1]

Poor Law Unions

Cuckfield Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Hurstpierpoint/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 591-594. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,697 times.