Hutton Buscel, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.pngNorth Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Hutton Buscel

Guide to Hutton Buscel, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hutton Buscel, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pickering-Lythe
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Scarborough PLU
Registration District Scarborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Riddal
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HUTTON-BUSCEL (St. Matthew), a parish, in the union of Scarborough, Pickering lythe, N. riding of York,... ½ a mile (N. by E.) from Wykeham, and 34 (N. E.) from York. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hutton Buscel, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
Hutton Buscel, Yorkshire Parish Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1600-1864 1600-1864 1600-1837 1600-1837 1600-1864 1600-1864

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464234.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 594-598. Date accessed: 26 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 7 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,306 times.