Hyde St George, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Hyde St George

Guide to Hyde St George, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Hyde, St George was founded in 1832 as a chapel to Stockport: St. Mary the Virgin, becoming the district church for the township of Hyde in 1843. The boundaries of "The Chapelry District of Saint George, Hyde" were described in the London Gazette on 10 January 1843:

"The chapelry district of Saint George, Hyde, is to consist of the township of Hyde, being bounded on or towards the north and east by the parish of Mottram in Longdendale; on the south by the township of Werneth, in the parish of Stockport; and on the west by the river Mersey, which divides it from the parish of Manchester" [1]

Hyde Saint George in Cheshire was created a parish in 1843 from Stockport Saint mary Ancient Parish.

Prior to 1831, the Church of England had no place of worship in the township, and many of the inhabitants of Hyde attended either Stockport St Mary, Mottram, or at Denton Old Church. But the rapid increase of the population of Hyde (owing to the spread of the cotton industry), and the long hours that the people had to work, meant that a town church was needed.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241243.

Church records

Hyde St George parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Hyde St George Parish (1832) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1897-1909




FS PR's 1832-1909
  NONE
1859-1934
  NONE
1832-1973
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for St. George's Church, Hyde, 1832-1972 St. George is a chapelry in Hyde township, Stockport parish.
Cheshire Record Office reference: P 60/1/1-5, P 60/3605/2, P 60/2/1-4, P 60/3605/2/1-4, P 60/3/1-8, P 60/3605/3/1-2.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1832-1851. BRITISH 2069048 Items 8 - 9
Baptisms, September 1851-1892, 1909-1922. Marriages, 1839-November 1859. BRITISH 2069086
Marriages, November 1859-1910. BRITISH 2069087
Marriages, March 1910-1940. Burials, 1832-June 1846. BRITISH 2069088
Burials, June 1846-April 1887. BRITISH 2069089
Burials, January 1888-January 1910. BRITISH 2069090
Burials, November 1909-1972. BRITISH 2069091 Items 1 - 2

Parish registers for Chapelry of St. George, Hyde, 1892-1909 Cheshire Record Office nos.: P60/3605/1/1.

Parish Registers: St George Hyde
Film
Baptisms, 1892-1897.
1656400 Item 13
Baptisms, 1897-1909.
1656401 Item 1

Non-Conformists Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Stockport (1837–1937)
  • Hyde (1937–74)
  • Tameside ( post1974)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Bibliography

Middleton, Thomas, of Hyde
Subject: Hyde (Greater Manchester, England) -- Biography; Hyde (Greater Manchester, England)) -- History
Publisher: Manchester, [Eng.] : Cartwright and Rattray
Possible copyright status: NOT_IN_COPYRIGHT
Language: English
Call number: SRLF:LAGE-2319608
Digitizing sponsor: MSN
Book contributor: University of California Libraries
Collection: americana; cdl

online version available

http://www.archive.org/details/annalsofhydedist00middiala

Websites

References

  1. Genuki Uk. Date Accessed: 8 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 3,062 times.