Hythe, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent   Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Hythe, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Hythe, Kent
Hythe St+Leonard Kent.jpg
Hythe St+Leonard Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hythe
County Kent
Poor Law Union Elham PLU
Registration District Elham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1566
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Elham
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HYTHE (St. Leonard), a borough, parish, and one of the cinque-ports, having separate jurisdiction, in the union of Elham, and locally in the hundred of Hythe, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 33 miles (S. E. by E.) from Maidstone, and 67 (S. E. by E.) from London.[1]


Hythe is a coastal town in the Shepway District of Kent, see Hythe kent Wikipedia and is one of the Cinque Ports, see Cinque Port Wikipedia  Hythe is dominated by the Royal Military Canal Royal Military Canal Wikipedia and the system of Martello towers which form defense against French invasion. See Martello Towers Wikipedia The town and nearby coastline retains miltary firing ranges and garrison and the bay is a popular holiday destination and residential area of Kent.

The Hythe St Leonard is an Ancient Parish and beneath the chancel is an ossuary. The church is 11th century in origin.

The parish church of St Leonard, Oak Walk, Hythe has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted 'The town and parish of Hythe', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 231-253 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Elham Registration District Folkestone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Family History Library film numbers
Hythe
From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306873.

FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. [1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK [2] to locate outside UK. Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.


Poor Law Unions

Elham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 598-600. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2014, at 15:30.
  • This page has been accessed 2,039 times.