Iberia Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Louisiana
Iberia Parish
Guide to Iberia Parish Louisiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Iberia Parish, Louisiana | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Louisiana | |||||||||
![]() Location of Louisiana in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | October 30, 1868 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | New Iberia | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| Address | 300 Iberia Street New Iberia, LA 70560 | ||||||||
| Website: iberiaparishgovernment.com | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
Parish Courthouse
Iberia Parish County Courthouse
300 Iberia Street Ste 400
New Iberia, LA 70560
Phone: 337.365.3221
Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1868.[1]
History
Parent Parish
- 1868--Iberia Parish was created 30 October 1868 from St. Martin and St. Mary Parishes.
Parish seat: New Iberia [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Iberia Parish boundary changes. (map also shows parish boundaries for census years)
Record Loss
Places / Localities
| |||||||||||||||||||
Resources
African American
- Louisiana African American Griots Project ~ USGenWeb Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
Cemeteries
- LA Tombstone Transcription Project ~ partial records and photos ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Interment.net ~ LA cemetery records by county
- African American Cemeteries ~ listing by county
- FindaGrave.com ~ cemetery records with search by cemetery, by surname
Census
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1900 | 29,015 | ||
| 1910 | 31,262 | 7.7% | |
| 1920 | 26,855 | −14.1% | |
| 1930 | 28,192 | 5.0% | |
| 1940 | 37,183 | 31.9% | |
| 1950 | 40,059 | 7.7% | |
| 1960 | 51,657 | 29.0% | |
| 1970 | 57,397 | 11.1% | |
| 1980 | 63,752 | 11.1% | |
| 1990 | 68,297 | 7.1% | |
| 2000 | 73,266 | 7.3% | |
| 2010 | 73,240 | 0% | |
| Iberia Parish Census Data[3] | |||
Church
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana ~ by city ~ Church Angel
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- USGW Digital Map Collection ~ USGenWeb Project
Military
Louisiana Military History Online
Newspapers
- The Daily Iberian
- Chronicling America - Iberia Parish - Directory of Iberia Parish newspapers, Library of Congress website
- Louisiana Newspaper List ~ listing by name/parish ~ USNPL
- Louisiana Newspaper ~ listing ~ Newslink
Probate
Louisiana Probate Records ~ information on.
Taxation
Vital Records
Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- LAGenWeb - Louisiana State Records
- USGenWeb ~ Records, Maps, Archives and Other Projects
- Louisiana Archives ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Family History Library Catalog
- Iberia Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Thanks to the Iberia Parish Wiki Contributors
Anyone can be a contributor. Contributors are people who write and edit the pages for FamilySearch Wiki. Thanks to the following contributors for helping to build this parish (in alpha order). Help grow the wiki and add content today!
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), East Feliciana Parish, Louisana page 290, At various libr40ries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 13 March 2013, at 17:30.
- This page has been accessed 2,169 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



