Icklesham, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Icklesham, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Icklesham, Sussex
Icklesham All Saints East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Guestling
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Rye PLU
Registration District Rye
Records begin
Parish registers: 1669
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hastings
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ICKLESHAM (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Rye, hundred of Guestling, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 2 miles (W. by S.) from Winchelsea.[1]

Icklesham All Saints and St Nicholas  is an Ancient Parish and included part of  Rye Harbour. It neighbors Pett, Sussex and Rye Harbour Holy Spirit developed as a chapelry of Pett, Sussex

Icklesham All Saints and St Nicholas church history Icklesham All Saints

The Parish Church of St Thomas the Martyr has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

The Parish church of St Nicholas has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Icklesham Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Icklesham Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was within Rye Registration district, from 1935 this was incorporated into Battle Registration district
Certiificates may be obtained from
East Sussex County Council
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Icklesham, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Icklesham, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1669-1812


IGI 1669-1812 1669-1812
NBI

1722-1874

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Icklesham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464157.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Rye Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Icklesham/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 600-603. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 30 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,229 times.