Ifield, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Ifield, Sussex
Ifield St Margaret of Antioch Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Burbeach
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Horsham PLU
Registration District Horsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

IFIELD (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Horsham, hundred of Burbeach, though locally in that of Singlecross, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 1¾ mile (W.) from Crawley;Here is a place of worship for the Society of Friends.[1]


Ifield St Margaret of Antioch is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex, part of the parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbour Charlwood, Surrey

Ifield is a former village now a neighbourhood in the town of the Crawley West Sussex, see Ifield West Sussex  and St Margaret Ifield Wikipedia

The history of the church is found at Sussex Parish Churches Ifield St Margaret

Other places of worship in Ifield include:

Elim Pentecostal Church, Langley Green
Freinds Meeting House
Our Lady Queen of Heaven, Langley Green
St Alban, Gossops Green
St Leonard, Langley Green

St Mary Magdalene, Bewbush
St Theodore of Canterbury, Gossops Green
Trinity United Reformed Church

see Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) Ifield West Sussex

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Horsham registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Ifield, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
IFIELD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1760-1850 bgcolor="#ffcccc" 1813-1837 bgcolor="#ccffcc" bgcolor="#ccffff" bgcolor="#ccffff"
PRTS 1568-1901
1536-1900
1569-1901

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ifield

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.

Poor Law Unions

Horsham Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis. Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 603-608. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 July 2014, at 18:06.
  • This page has been accessed 1,192 times.