Ightham, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent   Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Ightham, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Ightham, Kent
Ightham St Peter Kent.jpg
Ightham St Peter Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wrotham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling PLU
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

IGHTHAM (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of West Malling, hundred of Wrotham, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 1¾ mile (S. W.) from Wrotham. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans[1].
Ightham is a village and civil parish in the Sevenoaks district of Kent. Ightham Wikipedia It is noted for the National Trust medieval moated manor house Ightham Mote Wikipedia

Ightham St Peter is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

The church of St Peter, Fen Pond Road Ightham has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 33-45 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Ightham North West Kent Family History Society Ightham St Peter

The Wesleyan Methodist church which dates from 1848 Ightham, Chapel Row

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ightham, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Ightham, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1830-1834, 1856-1863, 1888-1890
1830-1834

FS BTs 1813-1889 1813-1889 1813-1889
FS PRs 1559-1896 1559-1901; 1754-1865 (banns) 1559-1900
IGI 1559-1875 1560-1895 (gaps)

International Genealogical Index Christenings 1559-1875 Batches (C131501, C131502) Marriages 1560-1705; 1724-1876 1888-1895 Batches (M131501-M131503)

Land Tax

Images for Ightham are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census returns for Ightham 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Malling Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 603-608. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 18 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2014, at 15:38.
  • This page has been accessed 3,910 times.