Ilchester, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Ilchester, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ilchester, Somerset
Church of St Mary Major Ilchester Somerset.jpg
Church of St Mary Major Ilchester Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tintinhull
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Yeovil PLU
Registration District Yeovil
Records begin
Parish registers: 1690
Bishop's Transcripts: 1594
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ilchester
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ILCHESTER (St. Mary), a parish and incorporated town, and formerly a representative borough and a market-town, in the union of Yeovil, hundred of Tintinhull, W. division of Somerset, 4 miles (S. S. E.) from Somerton, and 122 miles (W. S. W.) from London. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ilchester, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
ILCHESTER PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1594-1635, 1690-1902 (gaps)
1594-1635, 1690-1901 (gaps)
1594-1666, 1690-1901 (gaps)
FS 1594-1812 (gaps)
1594-1812

MARR
1594-1837

NBI

1594-1958
PALL
1802-1812 (gaps)

Ilchester Providence Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ILCHESTER PROVIDENCE CHAPEL Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1807-1837

1806-1836

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474604.

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Ilchester/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 22 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 August 2014, at 16:58.
  • This page has been accessed 2,553 times.