Ilderton, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Ilderton, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ilderton, Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coquetdale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Glendale PLU
Registration District Glendale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1724
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bamburgh
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ILDERTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Glendale, N. division of Coquetdale ward and of Northumberland; consisting of the townships of Ilderton, Middleton-Hall, North and South Middleton, Roddam, and Roseden. The parish is intersected by the Coldgate, Lilburn, Roddam, and several minor streams.[1]

Additional information:

Ilderton St Michael is an ancient parish and includes: Other places in the parish include: Middleton Hall, North Middleton, North Middleton near Wooler, Plea Piece, Roddam, Rodham, Roseden, Rosedon, South Middleton, and South Middleton near Wooler.

The church of St. Michael, erected on the site of an older building, is a modern edifice of stone, consisting of chancel, nave, south porch, and an embattled western tower, the base of which is of ancient date, containing one bell; the font is dated 1727: the church was repaired and new roofed in 1851, and was again restored and reseated in 1879, when the chancel was also richly decorated: there are 400 sittings. The register dates from the year 1723. The living is a rectory, average tithe rent-charge £94, net yearly value £170, including 50 acres of glebe, with residence, in the gift of the Duke of Northumberland K.G., P.C. and held since 1887 by the Rev. John Robert Fleming M.A. of Trinity College, Dublin. [Kelly's Directory of Durham and Northumberland (1890), page 800.]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Ilderton, Northumberland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
ILDERTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/149 Date: 1765-1869 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. 

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Ilderton, St Michael: Records of baptisms 1724-1900, marriages 1727-1904 and burials 1727-1930 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1724-1812 and marriages 1727-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1727-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1724-1812, marriages and burials 1727-1812 and banns 1754-1812 for Ilderton are available in the Local Studies Departments of Newcastle Central Library and Gateshead Central Library.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438891.

Poor Law Unions

Glendale Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 07 Aug 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 18:31.
  • This page has been accessed 958 times.