Illington, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Illington, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Illington, Norfolk
St Andrew, Illington, Norfolk.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shropham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Wayland PLU
Registration District Wayland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1673
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rockland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ILLINGTON (St. Andrew), aparish, in the union of Wayland, hundred of Shropham, W. division of Norfolk, 3½ miles (N. W. by W.) from East Harling. [1]


Illington St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in the Rockland deanery of the Diocese of Norwich.
The church is now redundant and lies on the edge of Thetford Chase and the nearby Ministry of Defence Battle Training area.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Wayland 1837-1974

Church records

Illington, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[7]
Illington, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1672-1880
1673-1900
1673-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1673-1812 Undefined 1673-1913 Undefined 1673-1772, 1783-1812
JOIN
1817-1836

TIN 1813-1880

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 488/1-4

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.

http://apling.freeservers.com/1891Census/Illington.htm  transcript of 1891 census

Poor Law Unions

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Wayland Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 608-611 Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 October 2014, at 03:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,027 times.