Illingworth, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Illingworth, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Halifax PLU|
|Parish registers: 1695|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
ILLINGWORTH, a village and a chapelry in Halifax parish, W. R. Yorkshire. The village stands 2 miles NW of Halifax r. station, and has a post office under Halifax, and a worsted mill. The chapelry includes the village, and is part of Ovenden township. There is an Wesleyan chapel. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Illingworth exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ILLINGWORTH CHAPELRY Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Halifax to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the HALIFAX PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464259.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Date accessed: 26 October 2013.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1935,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1985,' Ancestry, accessed 13 May 2014.
- This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:06.
- This page has been accessed 1,378 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page