Illinois CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png U.S. Census Gotoarrow.png Illinois Gotoarrow.png Census

Adopt-a-wiki page
ISGSlogo.jpg This page adopted by:
Illinois State Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online Illinois indexes and images

1880-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Illinois 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - - - - - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link Link  Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
partial 1890 indexes - - Link Link - Link Link Link - -
images - - - Link - Link Link Link - -
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -

1850-1870

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Illinois 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1870 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1865 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
1860 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
partial 1855 State indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
1850 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1807-1845

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Illinois 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
partial 1845 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
1840 Federal indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1840 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
partial 1835 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
1830 Federal indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1830 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
partial 1825 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
1820 Federal indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1820 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1818 State indexes - Link - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
partial 1810 Territorial indexes - Link - - - - - - - -
images - - Type-
script
- - - - - - -
partial 1807 Territorial indexes - - - - - IN
Link
IN
Link
IN
Link
- -
images - - - - - - - - - -
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910 and Soundex 1870 1840  
1930 1900 and Soundex 1860 1830  
1920 and Soundex 1890 fragments and index 1850 1820  
  1880 and Soundex   1810  


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624 Soundex T1264 1870 M593         1840 M704
1930 T626 1900 T623 & Soundex T1043 1860 M653 1830 M19
1920 T625 & Soundex M1559 1890 fragments M407 & index M496 1850 M432 1820 M33
  1880 T9   Soundex T746    

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Illinois, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Illinois

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Family Search Census Bureau Google Book Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1880 Defective - - - - Link Link Link
1880 Mortality - - - - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality - - - - Link Link Link
1860 Mortality - - - - Link Link Link
1850 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1840 Pensioners - BookLink BookLink - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

Family History Library Federal Census Non-Population Schedule Microfilms for Illinois

1850-1880 Mortality 1840 Pensioners 1820 Manufacturers

National Archives Non-Population Schedule Microfilms for Illinois

  • 1935 Census of Business
  • 1850 - 1880 Nonpopulation Census Schedules including agriculture, industry and mortality schedules
  • 1820 - 1880 Census of Manufactures

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Illinois, click here.

State, territorial, and colonial censuses

Illinois took censuses in different years than the federal censuses. These censuses may have data different from those found in federal censuses. Check these censuses for more information on a family.

State, territorial, and colonial censuses of Illinois
1865 Missing Gallatin, Madison, and Monroe counties. Partially indexed at Illinois State Archives.[8][9][10]
1810-1855 Illinois State Archives has an index of state and federal censuses for these years[11][12]
1855 Missing Franklin, Henry, Stark, Will and Woodford counties, no names for Carroll, Champaign Gallatin, Jefferson, and Lake[8][9][12][13]
1855 Deaf, dumb, blind, and insane. Not available for all counties. Not indexed.[8]
1845 State census for Cass, Madison, Montgomery, Putnam and Tazewell counties[8][9][12]
1840 State census. No heads of families listed for counties of Alexander, Brown, Carroll, De Kalb, DeWitt, Clay, Greene, Hancock, Henry, Iroquois, Jefferson, Jersey, Lee, Scott, Shelby, Tazewell, Wabash, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Will, and Winnebago.[8][12][14][15] See also the Illinois 1840 federal census.
1835 State census for Fayette, Fulton, Jasper, Morgan, Putnam , and Union counties[8][9][12][16]
1830 State census for Morgan county.[8][12][17] See also the Illinois 1830 federal census.
1825 State census for Edwards, Fulton, and Randolph counties[8][9][12][18]
1820 State census for Alexander, Bond, Clark, Crawford, Franklin, Gallatin, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Madison, Monroe, Pope, Randolph, St. Clair, Union, Washington, Wayne, and White counties.[8][12][19] See also the Illinois 1820 federal census.
1818 State census[8][9][12][20][21]
1810 Randolph County only exists as part of Indiana Territory 1810 federal census[8][12][20][22]
1807 Randolph and St. Clair counties as part of Indiana Territory[23]
1787 American census of French settlers of Kaskaskia, and Prairie du Rocher[24]
1752 A French colonial census of Kaskaskia[25]
1732 French colonial census of Louisiana Territory, including Illinois[26]
1726 French colonial census of Louisiana Territory, including Illinois[26]
  • For 1840, 1830, and 1820, Illinois has both a federal and a state census.)
  • 1810-1855 Index Territorial, state, and federal censuses have been indexed in one alphabetical sequence along with county election returns and other records. Records for the 1825, 1835, and 1845 state censuses of many counties are missing or incomplete. The Illinois State Archives has the original card index complete through 1855. A microfilm copy made before the index was completed is:
Name Index to Early Illinois Records (Springfield, Ill.: Illinois State Archives, 1975). On 248 FHL films 1001592 (first of 248 films). At the time the index was microfilmed, most of the indexing of the 1855 census had not been completed.

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing Illinois censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

  1. index searching tips
  2. analyzing and using what you find
  3. census accuracy

Wiki articles describingonline collections are found at:

Sources and footnotes

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 5.8 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. 8.00 8.01 8.02 8.03 8.04 8.05 8.06 8.07 8.08 8.09 8.10 Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992), 37-39. WorldCat entry. FHL book 973 X2Lai
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 9.4 9.5 Emily Anne Croom, The Genealogist's Companion and Sourcebook (Cincinnati, Ohio: Betterway Books, 1994)[FHL REF book 929.1 C882g], 39.
  10. Illinois, Secretary of State, State census, 1865 (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1964, 1977; microfilm of original records in the Illinois State Library in Springfield)[FHL Films 972746-69].
  11. Lainhart, 39.
  12. 12.0 12.1 12.2 12.3 12.4 12.5 12.6 12.7 12.8 12.9 Name index to early Illinois records (Springfield, Illinois : Illinois State Archives, 1975)[On 248 FHL Films 1001592+]. This material indexes the state and federal censuses of 1810, 1818, 1820, 1825, 1830, 1835, 1840, 1845, 1850, 1855, among others.
  13. Illinois, Secretary of State, 1855 state census of Illinois (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1975; microreproduction of original records at the Illinois State Archives, Springfield, Illinois]][FHL Film 976178 item 11+].
  14. Illinois, Secretary of State, 1840 state census (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1976;Microfilm of original record in Springfield, Ill., Illinois State Archives)[FHL Film 1004694-95].
  15. Ronald Vern Jackson, W. David Samuelsen, Scott D. Rosenkilde, Illinois 1840 state census index (Bountiful, Utah : Accelerated Indexing Systems, c1984)[FHL Book 977.3 X2j 1840].
  16. Ronald Vern Jackson, W. David Samuelsen, Scott D. Rosenkilde, Illinois 1835 state census index (Bountiful, Utah : Accelerated Indexing Systems, c1984)[FHL Book 977.3 X2j 1835].
  17. Ronald Vern Jackson, W. David Samuelsen, Scott D. Rosenkilde, Illinois 1830 state census index (Bountiful, Utah : Accelerated Indexing Systems, c1984)[FHL Book 977.3 X2j 1830].
  18. Ronald Vern Jackson, W. David Samuelsen, Scott D. Rosenkilde, Illinois 1825 state census index (Bountiful, Utah : Accelerated Indexing Systems, c1984)[FHL Book 977.3 X2j 1825].
  19. Ronald Vern Jackson, Illinois 1820 state census (North Salt Lake, Utah : Accelerated Indexing Systems International, ©1987)[FHL Book 977.3 X28i 1820].
  20. 20.0 20.1 Margaret Cross Norton, Illinois census returns, 1810 and 1818 (1935, reprint; Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 1969)[FHL Book 977.3 B4i v. 24 1969; Film 897331 Item 2]. Photoreproduction of original.
  21. Ronald Vern Jackson, Illinois 1818 (North Salt Lake, Utah : Accelerated Indexing Systems International, ©1987)[FHL Book 977.3 X28i 1818].
  22. Ronald Vern Jackson, Illinois, 1810 (territorial census) (North Salt Lake, Utah : Accelerated Indexing Systems International, ©1987)[FHL Book 977.3 X28i 1810].
  23. Rebah M. Fraustein, Census of Indiana Territory for 1807 (1980, reprint; Indianapolis, Ind.: Indiana Historical Society, 1989, 1990)[FHL Book 977.2 X2c 1807; Film 1033927 Item 4], and Ronald Vern Jackson, et al., Indiana 1807 Census Index (North Salt Lake, Utah: Accelerated Indexing Systems International, 1986)[FHL Book 977.2 X22j 1807].
  24. Clarence Walworth Alvord, Kaskaskia Records, 1778-1790, Collections of the Illinois State Historical Library, vol. 5 (Springfield, Ill.: Illinois State Historical Library, 1909)[FHL Book 977.3 B4i v. 5; Film 978493], 414-420. Digitized by BYU Family History Archives, and Google books.
  25. Natalia Maree Belting, Kaskaskia Under the French Regime (New Orleans, La.: Polyanthos, 1948)[FHL Book 977.392/K1 H2b], 86-98. Belting includes a genealogical commentary on each entry in the census.
  26. 26.0 26.1 Charles René Maduell, Jr., Census Tables for the French Colony of Louisiana from 1699 Through 1732 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1972)[FHL Book 976.3 X2pm], 50-60.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 August 2014, at 22:44.
  • This page has been accessed 64,498 times.