Illogan, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Illogan, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Illogan, Cornwall
Illogan Church Cornwall.jpg
Illogan Church Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Redruth PLU
Registration District Redruth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ILLOGAN (St. Illogan), a parish, in the union of Redruth, E. division of the hundred of Penwith, W. division of Cornwall, 2¾ miles (N. W.) from Redruth. The Wesleyans and Bryanites have places of worship.[1]


Illogan is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall.Other places in the parish include: Brea, Bridge, Carn Brea, Forest, Illogan Downs, Pool, Portreath, Trevenson Moor, and Voguebeloth. Illogan (Cornish: Egloshal)is situated in the Deanery and Hundred of Penwith

The church is dedicated to Saint Illogan, of whom little is known. The tower is all that remains of the medieval church: the new church was separate from it and was built to the designs of J. P. St Aubyn in 1846. Notable features are some fine monuments of the Bassets and others and the granite font. The church contains a brass to James Basset, 1604

Illogan was a prominent centre of mining in the early industrial age and the birthplace of engineer and inventor Richard Trevithick.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Illogan, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[10]
Illogan, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1613-1673

COPC 1539-1719
1872-1907
1540-1676, 1886-1938
FMP 1613-1858 1602-1837 1813-1837
FREG
1889-1907

FS PRs 1539-1699 1539-1699, 1854-1907 1539-1699, 1880-2001
IGI 1613-1673, 1683-1773 1600-1837
TGEN 1720-1840


The Genealogical Society of Utah has no microfilm of the parish registers refer to the FamilySearch Catalogue for film numbers for Bishop's Transcripts and transcripts of the parish.

Bishop's Transcripts Microfilm of original records at the District Probate Court, Bodmin, Cornwall in 1952

Content Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1683-1685, 1694-1696, 1701-1703, 1708-1709, 1711-1721, 1716-1719, 1721-1737, 1741-1743, 1748-1749, 1745-1746, 1744-1745, 1746-1747, 1749-1750, 1747-1748, 1750-1751, 1771-1773, 1772, 1770-1771, 1769-1770, 1768-1769, 1767-1768, 1766-1667, 1765-1766, 1764-1765, 1763-1764, 1762-1763, 1761-1762, 1760-1761, 1759-1760, 1758-1759, 1756-1757, 1755-1756, 1753-1754, 1752-1753, 1751-1752. FHL BRITISH Film
90250 Item 1

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

The history registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for  Illogan.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241264.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Redruth Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were file by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdiction by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Illogan in GENUKI

http://www.saint-illogan.org.uk/index.html for information about the parish

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 608-611 Date accessed: 18 March 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 25 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  10. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 22 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:22.
  • This page has been accessed 2,978 times.