Ilmington, WarwickshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Gotoarrow.pngWarwickshire Parishes

Guide to Ilmington, Warwickshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ilmington, Warwickshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kiftsgate; Kington
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Shipston on Stour PLU
Registration District Shipston on Stour
Records begin
Parish registers: 1588
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kineton
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

ILMINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Shipston-upon-Stour, partly in the Upper division of the hundred of Kiftsgate, E. division of the county of Gloucester, but chiefly in a detached part of the hundred of Kineton, S. division of the county of Warwick, 4 miles (N. W. by W.) from Shipston. The church has very lately been restored and much enlarged. Attached to Foxcote mansion is a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Contents

Part of this parish is in Gloucestershire. See also Ilmington, Gloucestershire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ilmington, Warwickshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
Ilmington, Warwickshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
AC 1813-1899 1813-1899

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464173.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 608-611. Adapted. Accessed November 15, 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 July 2014, at 19:41.
  • This page has been accessed 805 times.