Ilton, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Ilton, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ilton, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Abdick and Bulstone
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Chard PLU
Registration District Chard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1642
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Crewkerne
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Ilton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ILTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Chard, hundred of Abdick and Bulstone, W. division of Somerset, 2½ miles (N. N. W.) from Ilminster; containing the hamlets of Ashford, Hurcott, and Ilford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ilton, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
ILTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1645-1811

FREG 1616-1635, 1743-1904
1616-1635, 1645-1903
1616-1636, 1743-1903
FS
1645-1812

JOIN
1645-1837

MARR
1616-1836

NBI

1616-1903
PALL
1790-1811

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474592.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Ilton/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 22 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 February 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  5. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  6. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 August 2014, at 17:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,530 times.