Imperial County, CaliforniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png California Gotoarrow.png Imperial_County,_California

Guide to Imperial County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records


Imperial County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Imperial County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 17, 1907
County Seat El Centro
Courthouse
Address Imperial County Courthouse
940 W Main St;
El Centro, CA 92243
Phone 760.482.4220

Imperial County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1907
County Recorder has birth, marriage and death records from 1907 [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

6 August 1907: Imperial County was created from San Diego County. County seat: El Centro [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History and Records

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Caimperial.png

Migration

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America</i>, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Imperial County, California. Page 84.
  2. [The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America],10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 March 2014, at 14:55.
  • This page has been accessed 7,758 times.