Independence County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Independence County

Guide to Independence County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Independence County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Independence County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 23, 1820
County Seat Batesville
Courthouse
Address Independence County Courthouse
192 East Main Street;
Batesville, AR 725091
Phone: 870.793.8828

Contents

County Courthouse

Independence County Courthouse
192 East Main Street;
Batesville, AR 725091
Phone: 870.793.8828

County Clerk has marriage records from 1826 and probate records from 1839; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records; County Library has burial records.[1]

Beginning years for Independence County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1826 1914* 1821 1820 1839
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

  • 1820--Independence County was created 23 October 1820 from Lawrence and Arkansas Counties.

County seat: Batesville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Batesville, Newark, Sulphur Rock, Southside, Magness, Pleasant Plains, Desha, Locust Grove, Bethesda, Cushman, Hickory Valley, Rosie, Oil Trough

Neighboring Counties

Cleburne  • Izard  • Jackson  • Lawrence  • Sharp  • Stone  • White

Independence CountyJackson CountyWoodruff CountyWhite CountyFaulkner CountyCleburne CountyStone CountyIzard CountyFulton CountySharp CountyLawrence CountyRandolph CountyClay CountyGreene CountyCraighead CountyPoinsett CountyCross CountySt. Francis CountyPrairie CountyLonoke CountyVan Buren CountySearcy CountyMarion CountyBaxter CountyARIndependence.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.


Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Independence County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • For ten millennia or more, Native Americans lived in the area, and sites from all early cultural periods are numerous.
  • 1539-1542 - In recent years, the route of Hernando de Soto and his Spanish army's expedition through the Southeast (1539–1542) has been re-charted by scholars, and Independence County is on the newly mapped path.
  • 1700s - When European observers returned to the area, the White River valley was no longer inhabited.
  • 1815 - Missouri Territory established Lawrence County, a huge area that encompassed most of what became north Arkansas.
  • 1820 October 20 - Independence County established.
  • 1828 - Independence County became an international border zone. The Cherokee traded the land back to the United States and moved west.
  • 1800s (late) - The county moved into the modern era with an economy based on agriculture, timber, and timber products

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Independence County on page 91.]
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Independence County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Independence County, Arkansas:


- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Volunteers (Confederate), Company C
- 7th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 38th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[4], Companies A, C, K, and M
- 4th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Union)
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company B
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company B

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Independence County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.


  • Probate Records 1830-1923 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian bonds and letters 1853-1902; County Court records 1830-1849; Guardian bonds and letters 1868-1895; Letters of administration 1846-1881; Probate records 1839-1881; Wills 1833-1923.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.


See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Independence County, Arkansas
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Independence County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Independence County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Independence County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Independence County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 68.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  5. Desmond Walls Allen, Fourth Arkansas Union Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 1. FHL book 976.7 M28dae
  6. Desmond Walls Allen, The Seventh Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988) FHL book 976.7 M22adw
  7. Ronald R. Bass, History of the Thirty-first Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1996), p. 12 FHL book 976.7 M2ba
  8. Desmond Walls Allen, Thirty-eighth Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 1. FHL book 976.7 M2at
  9. Desmond Walls Allen, Forty-fifth Arkansas Confederate Calvary, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 1. FHL book 976.7 M2af
  10. Desmond Walls Allen, First Arkansas Confederate Mounted Rifles, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 2. FHL book 976.7 M2a
  11. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 July 2014, at 21:13.
  • This page has been accessed 13,607 times.