Indian River County, FloridaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Indian River County Florida genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Florida  Gotoarrow.png  Indian River County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Florida
Online Records


Indian River County, Florida
Map
Map of Florida highlighting Indian River County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Facts
Founded May 30, 1925
County Seat Vero Beach
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Indian River County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

Quick Dates

Indian_River County's civil records start the following years:

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1925  1925    1930  1925  1925 

County Courthouse

Indian River Courthouse
 

Indian River County Courthouse
1840 25th St;
Vero Beach, FL 32960
Phone. 561-657-8000

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate court and land records from 1925.
County Health Department has birth and death records.[1]

History

Parent County

1925--Indian River County was created 30 May 1925 from St. Lucie County.  County seat: Vero Beach [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Florida counties see: Florida Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

  • Vero Beach
  • Sebastian
  • Fellsmere
  • Gifford
  • Orchid
  • Indian River Shores
  • Wabasso
  • Winter Beach

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

  • Crestlawn Cemetery
  • Sebastian Cemetery
  • Brookside Historical Cemetery
  • Gifford Cemetery
  • Winter Beach Cemetery

Census

For tips on accessing Indian River County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1930 6,724
1940 8,957 33.2%
1950 11,872 32.5%
1960 25,309 113.2%
1970 35,992 42.2%
1980 59,896 66.4%
1990 90,208 50.6%
2000 112,947 25.2%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

















Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Indian River County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps

Flindianriver.png

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Indian River County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Obituary Index provided by the Julian W. Lowenstein Archive Center & Genealogy Department of the Indian River County Library. Covers 1912 to March, 2011. Copies of the obituary can be acquired from the library for a fee. Information is drawn from the following newspapers:

  • Vero Beach Press Journal
  • Sebastian Sun
  • Indian River Farmer
  • Fellsmere Farmer
  • Fellsmere Tribune

Probate

Probate records are held by the Indian River County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Indian River County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

Marriage
  • 1925-1931 - Indian River County Marriage Book 1 Index 1925-1931. Batch M744881 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Societies and Libraries 

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indian River County, Florida Page 135 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/54/Igiflorida.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:48.
  • This page has been accessed 9,289 times.