Indiana CensusEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
U.S. Census
Indiana
Census
|
|
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: Indiana Genealogical Society who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
Online Indiana indexes and images
| Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Indiana | |||||||||||
| Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* | Pay | |||||||||
| Family Search[1] |
Internet Archive[2] | Misc. | Heritage Quest[3] | Fold3[4] | Ancestry FHL[5] | Ancestry Library[5] | Ancestry Home[5] | Archives[6] | Family Link[7] | ||
| 1940 | indexes | Link | - | Link Link |
- | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - |
| images | Link | - | Link Link Link |
- | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | |
| 1930 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1920 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1910 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1900 | indexes | Link | Soundex | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1880 | indexes | Link | Soundex | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | |
| images | - | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1870 | indexes | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | |
| images | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | ||
| 1860 | indexes | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | ||
| images | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1850 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | ||
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1840 | indexes | Link | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1830 | indexes | Link | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| partial 1820 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1807 Territorial | indexes | - | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - |
| images | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | |
| Family Search | Internet Archive | Misc. | Heritage Quest | Fold3 | Ancestry FHL | Ancestry Library | Ancestry Home | Archives | Family Link | ||
| Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) | Pay | |||||||||
Federal population schedules
Microfilm images
Microfilm images
| 1940 N/A | 1910 | 1870 |
| 1930 | 1900 and Soundex | 1860 |
| 1920 and Soundex | 1880 and Soundex | 1850 |
| 1840 |
| 1940 N/A | 1910 T624 | 1870 M593 | 1840 M704 |
| 1930 T626 | 1900 T623 Soundex T1044 | 1860 M653 | 1830 M19 |
| 1920 T625 Soundex M1560 | 1880 T9 Soundex T747 | 1850 M432 | 1820 M33 |
Indexes: fiche, film, or book
For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Indiana, click here
Federal non-population schedules
Online indexes and images
| Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Indiana | ||||||||||
| |
Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) | Pay | |||||||
| Year | Type | Record Search | Census Bureau | Google Book | Heritage Quest | Ancestry FHL | Ancestry Library | Ancestry Home | ||
| 1880 | Mortality | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1870 | Mortality | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1860 | Mortality | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1850 | Mortality | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1840 | Pensioners | Link | BookLink | BookLink | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
- Indiana Genealogical Society has online indexes to the 1880 Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for all Indiana counties for its members.
- Indiana Genealogical Society has online indexes to the 1860 Mortality Schedule for some Indiana counties for its members.
Microfilm images
Family History Library Federal Census Non-Population Schedule Microfilms for Indiana
- 1850 Mortality Schedule FHL Collection]
- 1860 Mortality Schedule FHL Collection
- 1870 Mortality Schedule FHL Collection
- 1880 Mortality Schedule FHL Collection
National Archives Federal Census Non-Population ScheduleMicrofilms for Indiana
- 1820 - 1880 Manufactures Records
- 1935 Census of Business:
- Schedules of Advertising Agencies
- Schedules of Banking and Financial Institutions
- Schedules of Miscellaneous Enterprises
- Schedules of Motor Trucking for Hire
- Schedules of Public Warehousing
- Schedules of Radio Broadcasting Stations
Indexes: fiche, film, or book
For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Indiana, click here.
State, territorial, and colonial censuses
Indiana took censuses in different years than the federal censuses. These censuses may have different data compared to federal censuses. Check these censuses for more information on a family.
| State, territorial, and colonial censuses of Indiana | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1937 | Blackford (Licking Twp)[8], Henry[9] counties | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1931 | Blackford (Licking Twp)[8], Hancock[10], Henry[11][12], St Joseph[13] counties | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1925 | Blackford (Licking Twp)[8], Henry[14], St. Joseph[13] counties | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1919 | Blackford (Licking Twp)[8], Hancock (Center Twp)[15], Henry[16], Miami[17], Pike[18], Ripley (Jackson Twp)[11], St Joseph[13], Starke (Center Twp)[11][19] counties | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1913 | Blackford (Licking Twp)[8], Henry[11][20], Miami[17], Pike[18], St. Joseph[13], Starke (Center Twp)[21] counties | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1907 | Miami[17], Montgomery[22], Pike (Lochart Twp)[18], St Joseph[13] counties | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1901 | Lawrence (Spice Valley Twp)[23], Miami[17], Pike[18], St. Joseph[13], Washington (Jackson Twp)[11] counties | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1897 | Pike school[24], St. Joseph[25] counties | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1896 | Pike County school census[24] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1895 | Miami[17], Pike[18], St. Joseph[13], Starke[26] counties | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1890 | Pike veterans[27] and school census[28], St. Joseph counties[13] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1889 | Blackford (scattered twps)[11], Hancock (Brown Twp)[15], Miami[17], Pike (Jefferson Twp)[18] & vets[27], St. Joseph[13] counties | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1887 | Pike County veterans census[27] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1886 | Pike County veterans census[27] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1883 | Blackford (scattered twps)[11], Hancock (Brandywine, Center, and Sugar Creek twps)[15], Miami[17], St. Joseph[13] counties | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1882 | Whitley (Churubusco) County[29] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1877 | Blackford (scattered twps)[11], Fayette (five twps.)[11], Hancock (Brown, and Green twps)[15], Miami[17] counties | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1871 | Blackford (scattered twps), Miami[17] counties[11] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1866 | Clinton[30], Kosciusko[31], Miami[17], Pike (Jefferson Twp)[32] counties | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1857 | Blackford (Hartford City), Miami[17] counties[11] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1853 | Hendricks[33], Jennings[34], Miami[17], St. Josesph[13] counties | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1842-1846 | Gibson, Pike counties school censuses[35] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| 1807 | Dearborn, Knox, Randolph counties + 1807 voters lists from Clark and Randolph (Kaskaskia) counties.[11][36] | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
- According to Lainhart, Indiana county assessors were supposed to take a state census every six years starting in 1853. She also quotes Ancestry's Red Book saying enumerations were made at various intervals starting in 1820. Most of these incomplete originals are apparently at county archives. The Indiana State Library at Indianapolis has a few for 1931, 1919, 1913, 1901, 1889, 1883, 1877, 1871, and 1857.[11] Many are also published in periodicals.[35]
References
- ↑ FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
- ↑ Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
- ↑ HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
- ↑ Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
- ↑ Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
- ↑ FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 8.2 8.3 8.4 Enumeration of white and colored males over the age of 21, Licking Township, Indiana, 1913-1937 (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1961; Microfilm of papers from the collection of Cecil Beeson, Sr.)[FHL Film 241121 Item 10]. Includes the years 1913, 1919, 1925, 1931, and 1937.
- ↑ Enumeration of white and colored males, Henry County, Indiana, 1937 ([Indianapolis, Indiana : Ye Olde Genealogie Shoppe, 1991?])[FHL Fiche 6334117]. No circulation to Family History Centers.
- ↑ Public Library of Fort Wayne and Allen County, Indiana, Enumeration of white and colored males over the age of 21, 1931, Hancock County, Indiana (Fort Wayne, Ind. : Public Library, 1968.)[FHL Film 874494 Item 9].
- ↑ 11.00 11.01 11.02 11.03 11.04 11.05 11.06 11.07 11.08 11.09 11.10 11.11 11.12 Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 40-41.
- ↑ Enumeration of white and colored males, Henry County, Indiana, 1931 ([Indianapolis, Indiana : Ye Olde Genealogie Shoppe, 197-?])[FHL Fiche 6334119]. No circulation to Family History Centers.
- ↑ 13.00 13.01 13.02 13.03 13.04 13.05 13.06 13.07 13.08 13.09 13.10 St. Joseph County (Indiana), Assessor, Enumeration of white and colored males over the age of 21, St. Joseph County, Indiana (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1990; Microfilm of records located at St. Joseph County Historical Society, South Bend, Indiana.)[FHL Film 1671386+ ]. Includes 1853, 1883, 1889, 1890, 1895, 1901, 1907, 1913, 1919, 1925, and 1931.
- ↑ Enumeration of white and colored males, Henry County, Indiana, 1925 ([Indianapolis, Indiana : Ye Olde Genealogie Shoppe, 197-?])[FHL Fiche 6334453]. No circulation to Family History Centers.
- ↑ 15.0 15.1 15.2 15.3 Enumeration of white and colored males, Hancock County, Indiana : Green Twp., 1877; Brandywine Twp., 1883; Center Twp., 1883; Sugar Creek Twp., 1883; Brown Twp., 1877, 1889; Center Twp., 1919 (Typescript [mimeograph, 197-?])[FHL Film 874491 Item 7].
- ↑ Henry County enumeration of white and colored 1919 ([Indianapolis [Indiana] : Filmed by Ye Olde Genealogie Shoppe, [1990?])[FHL Fiche 6334477]. No circulation to Family History Centers.
- ↑ 17.00 17.01 17.02 17.03 17.04 17.05 17.06 17.07 17.08 17.09 17.10 17.11 Indiana Works Progress Administration, Index to enumeration of male voters of Miami County, 1850-1920 (Indianapolis [Indiana] : Indiana State Library, 1983; Microfilm of typescript (prepared in 1938, 1 v.) compiled from original records located in the Miami County Welfare Department, Peru.)[FHL Film 1323326 Item 9 A-F, 1323327 Item 1 G-Z].
- ↑ 18.0 18.1 18.2 18.3 18.4 18.5 Enumeration of white and colored males, Pike County, 1889-1919 ([Fort Wayne, Ind., Public Library, 1970])[FHL Book 977.236 X2e]. Includes 1919, 1913, 1907, 1901, 1895, and 1889.
- ↑ Field book for the enumeration of soldiers, sailors and national guards, Hamlet, Starke County, Indiana, 1919 (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989; Microfilm of original material from James Hardisty, Hamlet, Indiana.)[FHL Film 1638073 Item 8].
- ↑ Enumeration of white and colored males, Henry County, Indiana, 1913 ([Indianapolis, Indiana : Ye Olde Genealogie Shoppe, 1990?])[FHL Fiche 6334118]. No circulation to Family History Centers.
- ↑ Center Township, Starke County, Indiana, enumeration of white and colored males over the age of 21 in 1913 (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989; Microfilm of originals in the Starke County Public Library in Knox, Indiana.)[FHL Film 1638079 Item 4].
- ↑ Enumeration of white and colored males, Montgomery County, Indiana, 1907 : Clark, Ripley, Scott, Sugar Creek, Union, and Walnut townships (Atlanta [Georgia] : Filmed by the Genealogical Center, [1988?])[FHL Fiche 6333954].
- ↑ George McCammon, 1901 enumeration, Spice Valley Township, Lawrence County, Indiana, of white and colored male inhabitants over the age of 21 (Bedford, Indiana : Lawrence County Historical and Genealogical Society [Ind.], [2000])[FHL Book 977.226/S2 X2s].
- ↑ 24.0 24.1 Pike County (Indiana), Enumerator, Enumeration for school purposes, 1896-1897 (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1986; Microfilm of records located at Barrett Memorial Library, Petersburg, Indiana.)[FHL Film 1451836 Item 11].
- ↑ St. Joseph County, Indiana 1897 census (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1990; Microreproduction of original manuscript at the Historical Society Museum, South Bend, Indiana.)[FHL Film 1673050 Item 15].
- ↑ 1895 Enumeration records of Starke County, Indiana (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989; Microfilm of originals in the Starke County Museum in Knox, Indiana.)[FHL Film 1638081 Item 16].
- ↑ 27.0 27.1 27.2 27.3 Pike County (Indiana), Clerk of the Circuit Court, Veteran enrollment, 1886-1890 (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1985; Microfilm of records located in the Pike County Courthouse, Petersburg, Indiana.)[FHL Film 1433413 Item 3].
- ↑ Jefferson Township (Pike County, Indiana), Trustees, School records, 1890-1909 (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1986)[FHL Film 1451837 Item 4]. Includes school census 1890-1893.
- ↑ Stuart Harter, Miscellaneous town records of Churubusco, Indiana 1882-1935 (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1982)[FHL Book 977.275/C1 R4h; Film 1307586 Item 10]. Includes 1882 census index.
- ↑ Joan C. Bohm, 1866 enumeration schedule of white & colored males age 21 and over, in Clinton County, Indiana (Winter Garden, FL : J.C. Bohm, [199-?])[FHL Book 977.2 A1 no. 285].
- ↑ Douglas L. Mayer, An enumeration of males above the age of 21 years for the year 1866, residing in Kosciusko County, Indiana (Warsaw, Indiana : D. L. Mayer, 1985)[FHL Book 977.282 X29m; Fiche 6104706].
- ↑ Jefferson Township (Pike County, Indiana), Trustees, Jefferson Township enumeration, Feb. 2, 1866 (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1986; Microfilm of records located at the Barrett Memorial Library, Petersburg, Indiana.)[FHL Film 1451837 Item 2].
- ↑ Hendricks County (Indiana), County Clerk, Male Census, 1853 (Salt Lake City: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1967)[FHL Film 488432].
- ↑ Jennings County (Indiana), Clerk of the Circuit Court, Negro register, 1853-1856 (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1981; Microfilm of original records located in the Jennings County Courthouse, Vernon, Indiana.)[FHL Film 1305205 Item 5].
- ↑ 35.0 35.1 [Alice Shawhan], School enumeration, Pike-Gibson counties, 1842-1846 (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1986; Microfilm of manuscrpts located at the Barrett Memorial Library, Petersburg, Indiana.)[FHL Film 1451836 Item 10]. Copied from the Hoosier Genealogist vol. 7, nos. 1-2, 1967.
- ↑ Rebah Morgan Fraustein, Census of Indiana Territory for 1807 (Indianapolis, Indiana: Indiana Historical Society, 1980)[FHL Book 977.2 X2c 1807; Film 1033927 item 4].
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 5 July 2012, at 15:31.
- This page has been accessed 13,990 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More