Indiana PeriodicalsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Periodicals

Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Most family history periodicals reprint copies of local sources of genealogical value pertaining to people of the region. These may include genealogies, historical background, maps, information about local records and archives, queries, census records, transcripts of family Bibles, church records, court records, cemetery records, land records, obituaries, and wills. The Family History Library has copies of many periodicals, but some issues may be missing.

The major genealogical periodicals and magazines for Indiana research are listed below. Many of them have indexes that are either published separately or that are included in each volume.

Genealogy. 1973-1986. Published by the Genealogy Section, Indiana Historical Society, 315 W. Ohio Street, Indianapolis, Indiana 46202. FHL Book 977.2 B2gi. This publication ended in 1986.

The Hoosier Genealogist. 1961-. Published by the Genealogy Section, Indiana Historical Society, 315 W. Ohio Street, Indianapolis, Indiana 46202. FHL Book 977.2 B2h. This contains abstracts of such things as Bible, marriage, probate, land, and tax records for the state of Indiana. It is indexed for 1961 to 1983 by:

Wolfe, Barbara Schull. Index, Hoosier Genealogist, 1961–1983. Indianapolis, Ind.: Ye Olde Genealogie Shoppe, 1984. FHL Book 977.2 B2h index. There is a subject and a name index, but not every name is indexed.

The Hoosier Journal of Ancestry.1969-. Published by N.K. Sexton, P.O. Box 33, Little York, Indiana 47139. FHL Book 977.2 B2hj. This includes abstracts or transcripts of marriage, cemetery, Bible, census, probate, and Civil War veterans records and family genealogies. Each volume is indexed. Some years are also indexed in:

Hamilton Computer Service. Superior Index to the Hoosier Journal of Ancestry, Query Column. Park City, Utah: n.p., 1980. FHL Book 977.2 Bhj index; Fiche 6046609. Includes over 4,000 index entries.

Indiana Genealogical Society Newsletter. Fort Wayne, Indiana: Indiana Genealogical Society, 1989–. FHL Book 977.2 D25i. This has queries from members of the Indiana Genealogical Society. The queries mention the name of the ancestor, the spouse, and often contain birth, marriage, and death information, as well as the name and address of the submitter.

Indiana Genealogist.1990-. Published by the Indiana Genealogical Society, P. O. Box 10507, Ft. Wayne, Indiana 977.2 D25ig. This includes how-to articles about Indiana research and abstracts of various kinds of records.

Indiana Magazine of History.1905-. Bloomington, Indiana: Department of History, Indiana University. FHL Book 977.2 B2im; vols. 2–46 on 15 Family History Library films starting with FHL Films 873892. Articles are about Indiana history and records, including newspapers, schools, churches, politics, businesses, and people. There are three sets of indexes. Each set of indexes lists names not found in the others:

Indiana Magazine of History General Index. Bloomington, Indiana: Department of History, Indiana University, 1930, 1958, 1982. FHL Books 977.2 B2im v. 1-25 index; 977.2 B2im v. 26-50 index.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 July 2012, at 05:05.
  • This page has been accessed 2,276 times.