Ingham County, MichiganEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Michigan
Ingham County
Guide to Ingham County Michigan genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Ingham County, Michigan | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Michigan in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | October 29, 1867 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Mason |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Ingham County Courthouse 315 S Jefferson St. Mason, MI 48854 Phone: (517) 676-7201 Ingham County Website |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1867,
marriage records from 1838, divorce and court
records from 1839.
Probate Court has probate records
Town and City Clerks have burial records. [1]
http://www.michigan.gov/libraryofmichigan/0,2351,7-160-18635_20736-56593--,00.html
History
See THE CAPITOL REGION OF MICHIGAN compiled by Victoria Wilson for a general "how to" guide to researching in the area.
Parent County
1829--Ingham County was created 29 October 1829 from Washtenaw and Shiawassee Counties and unorganized territory. It was attached to Washtenaw County prior to organization 4 June 1838.
County seat: Mason [2]
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ingham_County,_Michigan
http://familypedia.wikia.com/wiki/Ingham_County,_Michigan
http://www.michmarkers.com/menus/ingham.htm
County histories - books & online
- http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/webbin/book/browse?type=lcsubc&key=Ingham%20County%20%28Mich.%29%20--%20History%20--%20Sources&c=x
- http://www.ingham.org/bc/hist/Pioneer%20History%20of%20Ingham%20County/Pioneer%20History%20of%20Ingham%20County.htm
- https://kindle.amazon.com/work/bicentennial-history-ingham-county-michigan/B004RJO1V4/B0006CJW4C
- http://www.memoriallibrary.com/MI/LivIngPB/
- http://books.google.com/books/about/HISTORY_OF_INGHAM_AND_EATON_COUNTIES_MIC.html?id=eoz2jflPnDMC
- http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/micounty/AFK0693.0001.001?view=toc
- https://sites.google.com/site/onlinedirectorysite/Home/usa/mi/ingham
- http://archive.org/details/historyofinghame00indura
- http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/micounty/ARH7656.0001.001?rgn=main;view=fulltext
- http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/micounty/BAD0934.0001.001?view=toc
- http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/micounty/2933871.0001.001?rgn=main;view=fulltext
- POSTMARKED: MICHIGAN, MICH. 1847-1848, by Craig A. Whitford & David L. Mackey.
- PIONEER HISTORY OF INGHAM COUNTY, v.1, comp by Mrs. Franc L. Adams
Boundary Changes
See COUNTY EVOLUTION IN MICHIGAN, 1790-1897 by Richard W. Welch for the development of the counties in the state. This will help you to determine place of residence of your ancestors and under whose civil jurisdiction they resided. It is also useful for when you start to read the census records.
Record Loss
Places/Localities
- http://www.mifamilyhistory.org/mi_places/webplaces.aspx?county=Ingham
- http://michigan.hometownlocator.com/features/historical,class,post%20office,scfips,26065.cfm
Alaiedon Twp.
- http://alaiedontwp.com/history.htm
- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alaiedon_Township,_Michigan
- http://ingham.migenweb.net/Alaiedon.html
- http://www.usgennet.org/usa/mi/county/ingham/Alaiedon.html
Aurelius Twp.
- http://ingham.migenweb.net/Aurelius.html
- http://www.usgennet.org/usa/mi/county/ingham/Aurelius.html
- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aurelius_Township,_Michigan
Bunker Hill
Bunker Hill Twp.
Dansville
Delhi Charter Twp.
- http://ingham.migenweb.net/Delhi.html
- http://www.delhitownship.com/
- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delhi_Charter_Township,_Michigan
East Lansing
Edgemont Park
Haslett
Holt
Ingham Twp.
Lake Lansing
Lansing
Lansing Twp.
- http://ingham.migenweb.net/Lansing.html
- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lansing_Charter_Township,_Michigan
Leroy Twp.
- http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leroy_Township,_Ingham_County,_Michigan
- http://ingham.migenweb.net/Leroy.html
Leslie
- http://ingham.migenweb.net/Leslie.html
- http://www.usgennet.org/usa/mi/county/ingham/LeslieVillage.html
- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leslie,_Michigan
Leslie Twp.
- http://www.usgennet.org/usa/mi/county/ingham/Leslie.html
- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leslie_Township,_Michigan
Locke Twp.
Mason
- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mason,_Michigan
- http://www.infomi.com/city/mason/
- http://ingham.migenweb.net/Mason.html
- http://ingham.migenweb.net/Memories.html
- http://www.cyndislist.com/us/mi/counties/ingham/photos/
- http://www.usgennet.org/usa/mi/county/ingham/Mason.html
- http://www.livingplaces.com/MI/Ingham_County/Mason_City.html
Meridian
Meridian Twp.
Okemos
Onondaga
Stockbridge
Stockbridge Twp.
Vevay Twp.
- http://www.vevaytownship.org/
- http://ingham.migenweb.net/Vevay.html
- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vevay_Township,_Michigan
Webberville
Wheatfield
- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wheatfield_Township,_Michigan
- http://ingham.migenweb.net/Wheatfield.html
White Oak Twp.
- http://www.white-oak-twp.org/
- http://ingham.migenweb.net/WhiteOak.html
- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_Oak_Township,_Michigan
Williamston
Williamstown Twp.
- http://williamstowntownship.com/
- http://ingham.migenweb.net/Williamstown.html
- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Williamstown_Township,_Michigan
- http://www.usgennet.org/usa/mi/county/ingham/Williamstown.html
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Announcements
- http://digital.zoompubs.com/publication/?m=17015&l=1
- http://seekingmichigan.org/events/2013-abrams-genealogy-seminar.
- https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mid-Michigan-Genealogical-Society/63844634435?id=63844634435&sk=events
- http://icgsweb.org/Calendar/Calendar.aspx
- From the Historical Society of Greater Lansing - Please join HSGL for the opening of our next exhibit, Lansing Eats! on Friday evening, May 31st at the Creyts House, 831 N. Washington, Lansing! (5:00 - 7:00 pm, 831 N. Washington) We'll be talking about restaurants, browsing through old cookbooks, watching Martha Dixon cooking show clips, reminiscing about Lansing area dairies, gathering around a community dining table, discussing gardening, and more! Check out www.lansinghistory.org for more information!
Bible Records
Biographies
Cemeteries
http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=csr&CScn=&CScntry=4&CSst=24&CScnty=1259
http://genealogytrails.com/mich/ingham/cem.html
http://www.cyndislist.com/us/mi/counties/ingham/cemeteries/
http://www.usgwtombstones.org/michigan/ingham.htm
- Mount Hope Cemetery, Lansing BillionGraves
- North Cemetery, Lansing BillionGraves
- • East Lawn Memory Gardens
• Eden Cemetery
• Felt Plains Cemetery
• Glendale Cemetery (New Okemos)
• Leek Cemetery
• Maple Ridge Cemetery
• Mount Hope Cemetery
• North Cemetery
• Pioneer Cemetery
• Riverside Cemetery
• Rockwell Foote Cemetery
http://www.interment.net/us/mi/ingham.htm
- http://libraryofmichigan.state.mi.us/MichiganCemeteries/
- http://www.usgwarchives.net/mi/tsphoto/ingham/lane.htm
- http://www.interment.net/data/us/mi/ingham/pioneer/
- http://www.usgwarchives.net/mi/tsphoto/ingham/maplegrove/maplegrove-a.htm
- http://www.usgwarchives.net/mi/tsphoto/ingham/mthope.htm
- http://www.usgwarchives.net/mi/tsphoto/ingham/strickland.htm
- http://www.usgwarchives.net/mi/tsphoto/ingham/northaurelius.htm
- http://35.8.7.98/search~S37?/Xingham+county&searchscope=37&SORT=D/Xingham+county&searchscope=37&SORT=D&SUBKEY=ingham+county/1%2C947%2C947%2CB/frameset&FF=Xingham+county&searchscope=37&SORT=D&2%2C2%2C
- http://www.interment.net/data/us/mi/ingham/eden/
- http://www.usgwtombstones.org/michigan/ingham.htm
- http://michigan.hometownlocator.com/maps/feature-map,ftc,2,fid,626097,n,fitchburg%20cemetery.cfm
- http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=cr&GSln=Aldrich&GSiman=1&GScid=517&CRid=517&pt=Fitchburg%20Cemetery&
- http://www.usgwarchives.net/mi/tsphoto/ingham/fitchburg.htm
- http://www.usgwarchives.net/mi/tsphoto/ingham/pioneer.htm
Census records
http://www.census-online.com/links/MI/Ingham/
1850
1860
1870
Church
- TIMELINE OF LANSING, MICHIGAN CHURCHES
1836 – Biddle City plotted by brothers Jerry & William Ford, located south of the Grand
and Red Cedar Rivers. It consisted of 48 full blocks and 17 fractional ones.
While lots were sold the plat was abandoned and the “city” ceased to exist.
1845 – First Methodist sermon preached at the log house of Joab Page.
1847 - Town of Michigan, Michigan established as the new state capital.
Catholic Church - The Mass was celebrated for the first time in the log
home of Thomas and Eleanora Saier. Saiers later donated land on
Chestnut Street for a church to be built which was begun in 1856.
1848 – Name changes to Lansing. The Methodists and Presbyterians held services in the
School House, the former holding service in the morning and the later in the
afternoon. 1848-50 Methodist services were held in the Representation Hall.
by 1849 – 11 churches existed:
1. First Methodist Church, Wall St., Rev. D.D. Gillett, pastor, (METHODIST)
2. Presbyterian Church, Washington Ave., Rev. C.S. Armstrong, pastor (PRESBYTERIAN)
3. Episcopalian Church, Washington Ave., Rev. H. B. Burges, rector (EPISCOPAL)
4. Free Will Baptist Church, Kalamazoo St., Rev. L. B. Potter, pastor (BAPTIST)
5. Second Methodist Church, Washington Ave., Rev. D.D. Gillett, pastor, (METHODIST)
6. Baptist Church, Capitol Ave., Rev. Charles Johnson, pastor (BAPTIST)
7. United Brethern in Christ’s Church, Capitol Ave. (BRETHERN)
8. Universalist Church, Grand St., (UNIVERSALIST)
9. Romas Catholic Church, erecting midtown) (ROMAN CATHOLIC)
10. German Lutheran Church, Filborn St., Rev. A. Buerkle, pastor (LUTHERAN)
11. German Methodist Church, Saginaw St., Rev. Adolph Hoffman, pastor (METHODIST)
1850 - June 1, - Lot 6, Block 96 on which the present church now stands was deeded to
the First M.E. Church and subsequently to the Central M.E. Church.
1859 – First Baptist Church dedicated, corner of Washington Ave. & Ionia St. Prior to
construction services held at Franklin Street Tavern
1862 - The Central Methodist Episcopal Church was erected.
1863 - Universalist Church dedicated, corner of Grand & Allegan.
1887 – First Presbyterian Church, corner of Allegan and Capitol Ave.
1894 - First Baptist Church, new construction
1904 - A new temporary Catholic Church and hall were built in 1904 on
Walnut Street.
1911- Construction begun on Immaculate Conception of St. Mary’s on Seymour St.
1922 – Church of the Resurrection opened. (CATHOLIC)
1939 – St. Mary’s became the cathedral of the Lansing Diocese.
Church Histories
- AN HISTORICAL CALENDAR COMMEMORATING OUR 150TH ANNIVERSARY, 1855-2005, by the Emanuel First Evangelical Lutheran Church, Lansing, Michigan
- THE HISTORY OF EMANUEL, GOD WITH US, 1855-1955. by The Centennial Committee, Hebert Beeskow, Chairman
DENOMINATIONS in Lansing:
- ASSEMBLIES OF GOD –
Assembly of God Calvary
3006 W Jolly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 393-5223
Church Of God In Michigan
4212 Alpha St, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 393-7020
Maranatha Assembly of God
927 E North St, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 372-4106
Mt. Hope Church And International Outreach
202 S Creyts Rd, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 321-2273
- BAPTIST –
Berean Baptist Church
6121 S Waverly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 887-2266
Bethany Baptist Church
1000 Lincoln Ave, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 484-1331
Bethel Baptist Church
810 Edgemont Blvd, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 321-3922
Calvary Baptist Church
14769 Wood Rd, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 482-1135
Ebenezer House
5655 S Washington Ave, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 272-0572
Eliezer Temple Church
3637 W Jolly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 394-2544
Faith Fellowship Baptist Church
1001 Dakin St, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 853-9897
Family Life Baptist Church
1427 Hillcrest St, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 484-9194
Galilee Baptist Church
2511 Reo Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 887-0770
Good Shepherd Baptist Church
11715 W Jolly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 393-7242
Grace Bible Baptist Fellowship
635 Armstrong Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 882-0307
Immanuel Baptist Church
4303 S Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 882-4660
Immanuel Baptist Church of North Lansing
16045 S Lowell Rd, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 420-0273
Macedonia International Worship Center
1936 W Jolly Rd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 272-4911
Maple Grove Baptist Church
5907 S Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 882-8918
Millett Bible Baptist Church
5324 Millett Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 322-0150
New Mount Calvary Baptist Church
3800 W Miller Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 272-3800
Olivet Baptist Church
5455 W Willoughby Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 887-0988
Paradise Missionary Baptist Church
3403 Franette Rd, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 321-7328
Parker Memorial Baptist Church
1902 E Cavanaugh Rd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 882-2317
Pilgrim Rest Baptist Church
5200 Pleasant Grove Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 882-8012
Prince of Peace Baptist Church
3125 W Miller Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 882-5180
Shiloah Baptist Church
5225 S Waverly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 887-7557
Solid Rock Baptist Church
2410 S Pennsylvania Ave, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 367-8929
Union Missionary Baptist Church
500 S Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Lansing, MI 48915 (517) 485-7705
Valley Farms Baptist Church
1141 E State Rd, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 485-3095
Grace Tabernacle Baptist Church
1819 W Willow St, Lansing, MI 48915 (517) 487-6047
Judson Memorial Baptist Church
530 Vernon Ave, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 882-5961
Little Rock Baptist Church
433 S Magnolia Ave, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 346-9948
True Light Missionary Baptist Church
1147 W Maple St, Lansing, MI 48915 (517) 484-6110
Colonial Village Baptist
2010 Boston Blvd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 484-4446
Friendship Baptist Church
2912 Pleasant Grove Rd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 394-6369
New Home Missionary Baptist Church
3133 Pleasant Grove Rd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 882-0300
Tithe Missionary Baptist Church
1415 W Holmes Rd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 887-1592
- BRETHERN –
First United Brethren Church
1330 E Grand River Ave, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 487-5766
Grace Brethren Church
3904 W Willow Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 323-2424
Church Of The Brethren
3020 S Washington Ave, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 882-0811
- CHRISTIAN REFORMED –
Immanuel Community Reformed Church
3200 Delta River Dr, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 321-2495
Spiritual Renaissance Min
1012 N Foster Ave, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 346-7517
- CHURCH OF CHRIST –
Church of Christ At Holmes Road
321 E Holmes Rd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 882-8105
New St Paul Church Of Christ
1717 E Cavanaugh Rd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 882-1313
Pilgrim Congregational Church
125 S Pennsylvania Ave, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 484-7434
South Lansing Christian Church
6300 Aurelius Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 394-3220
Voice of Power Deliverance Ministry
1033 Hickory St, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 908-0468
Capital Area Church Of Christ
3107 S Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 882-6493
Tabernacle of David Church of God In Christ
2645 W Holmes Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 882-6866
West Lansing Church of Christ
5505 W St Joe Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 323-3691
- CHURCH OF GOD –
Pennway Church Of God
1101 E Cavanaugh Rd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 882-0223
West Lansing Church of God
819 West St, Lansing, MI 48915 (517) 482-8104
- CHURCH OF GOD IN CHRIST-
Greater Works International Church of God in Christ
3310 Bardaville Dr Ste. 2C, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 214-3865
Lansing Church of God In Christ
5304 Wise Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 882-2335
Morning Star Church of God In Christ
1226 Leslie St, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 485-0229
New Community Tabernacle Church
1726 W Jolly Rd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 394-8109
New Hope Church of God In Christ
6025 S Waverly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 394-0050
Robinson Memorial Church
509 Charles St, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 482-3478
- CHURCH OF JESUS CHRIST OF LATTER DAY SAINTS -
none in Lansing, all located in East Lansing.
- COMMUNITY OF CHRIST –
Christ Community Church
227 N Capitol Ave, Lansing, MI 48933 (517) 482-0600
Community of Christ Capital Area Congregation
1514 W Miller Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 882-3122
Cornerstone Community
4901 W Michigan Ave, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 321-4280
River's Edge Community Church
5222 Dumond Ct, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 322-2188
Oakbrook Community Church of Lansing
1415 Clifton Ave, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 484-2234
St Stephen's Community Church
1007 Kimberly Dr, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 484-2180
Temple Immanuel's Community Church
5400 S Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 394-1988
- CONGREGATIONAL –
Mayflower Congregational Church
2901 W Mount Hope Ave, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 484-3139
Plymouth Congregational Church
2001 E Grand River Ave, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 484-9495
- EPISCOPAL –
St. Paul's Episcopal Church: Choir Room & Choir Master's Office
stpaulslansing.org - 218 West Ottawa Street, Lansing - (517) 482-9454
St David's Episcopal Church
1519 Elmwood Rd, Lansing, MI 48917 » Map (517) 323-2272
www.stdavidslansing.org - 1519 Elmwood Road, Lansing - (517) 323-2272
St Michael's Episcopal Church
- Place page
www.saintmichaellansing.org - 6500 Amwood Drive, Lansing - (517) 882-9733
- EVANGELICAL CONVENANT –
New Covenant Christian Church & School
4415 W St Joe Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 323-8903
Bretton Woods Covenant Church
925 Bretton Rd, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 323-3316
- INTERDENOMINATIONAL –
Devine Destiny Outreach Ministries Church
1804 W Saginaw St, Lansing, MI 48915 (517) 484-4840
Life Impact Campus Ministries
205 W Saginaw St, Lansing, MI 48933 (517) 574-5965
Diosine Of Usa
921 Westover Cir, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 327-6394
Child Evangelism Fellowship Of Michigan Inc
4301 W Mount Hope Hwy Hope, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 322-2193
Holy Temple Ministries Of God
3233 Christine Dr, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 272-0116
Faith Bible Church Inc
5211 W St Joe Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 321-4225
King's Highway Deliverance Church International
2710 N Grand River Ave, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 977-1067
Dorcas Outreach Church & Ministries
209 Falls Ct Apt E, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 327-6113
Quaid Jack Glad Tidings Church
2120 Donora St, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 485-6914
Agape Christian Church
4515 S Cedar St, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 394-2663
Christian Church-Disciples Michigan Region
2820 Covington Ct, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 372-3220
Spiritual Assistant
1034 N Homer St, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 853-0858
Abundant Life Holistic Services
3227 Holiday Dr Apt 10, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 203-4918
God's Creations
1543 Blue Ridge Dr, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 614-5208
Rey Cristo Church
6121 Rosedale Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 394-0676
Holt Christian Church Inc
2424 Washington Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 694-3960
Walker Memorial Bible Church
400 E Frederick Ave, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 482-8025
- ISLAM –
- JEHOVAH'S WITNESSES –
Jehovah's Witnesses
2730 Delta River Dr, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 323-1980
Jehovah's Witnesses
3611 W Jolly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 882-3179
Jehovah's Witnesses Central & Spanish Congregation
2330 N East St, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 485-6921
- JEWISH –
Kehillat Israel Congregation
2014 Forest Rd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 882-0049
- LUTHERAN –
Bethlehem Lutheran Church
549 E Mount Hope Ave, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 482-3225
Calvary Lutheran Church, E L C A
6301 W St Joe Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 321-4292
Good Shepherd Lutheran Church
7000 W Saginaw Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 321-6100
Grace Lutheran Church
528 N Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Lansing, MI 48915 (517) 372-5830
Nw Lower Michigan Sinod, Elca
801 S Waverly Rd Ste 201, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 321-5066
Christ Lutheran Church
122 S Pennsylvania Ave, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 482-2252
Evangelical Lutheran Church In America North-West Michigan Synod
2900 N Waverly Rd, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 321-5066
Shepherd Of Hills Lutheran
7740 W St Joe Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 627-3913
Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church
4001 S Pennsylvania Ave, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 882-0176
- METHODIST –
Cedarway Free Methodist Church
4515 S Cedar St, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 882-3896
Central United Methodist Church
www.gbgm-umc.org - 215 North Capitol Avenue, Lansing - (517) 485-9477
Central Free Methodist Church
www.centralfreemethodist.org - 828 North Washington Avenue, Lansing - (517) 485-2232
Delta Haven Free Methodist Church Inc
12406 Broadbent Rd, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 622-8295
Delta Mills United Methodist Church
6809 Delta River Dr, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 321-8100
Faith United Methodist Church & South Lansing Ministries
4301 S Waverly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 882-0661
Mt. Hope United Methodist Church
www.mounthopeumc.org - 501 E Mount Hope Ave, Lansing - (517) 482-1549
Sycamore Creek Church
5127 Aurelius Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 394-6100
Trinity United Methodist Church
lansingtrinity.org - 7533 W St Joe Hwy, Lansing - (517) 627-8388
Asbury United Methodist Church
www.asburyumclansing.org - 2200 Lake Lansing Road, Lansing - (517) 484-5794
Christ United Methodist Church
www.christunitedmethodistlansing.com - 517 West Jolly Road, Lansing - (517) 394-2727
Grace United Methodist Church
1905 W Mount Hope Ave, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 485-3366
Grace United Methodist Church
1900 Boston Blvd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 482-5750
Gunnisonville United Methodist Church
Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 482-7987
First United Methodist Church
3827 Delta River Dr, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 321-5187
- METHODIST – EPISCOPAL –
Mask Memorial Christian Methodist Episcopal
5601 S Waverly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 394-6900
Trinity AME Church
maps.google.com - 3500 West Holmes Road, Lansing - (517) 882-5722
St. Matthew A M E
522 W Maple St, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 482-5329
- NAZARENE –
First Church of The Nazarene
231 Iris Ave, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 492-2025
First Church Of The Nazarene
310 Elmwood Rd, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 321-4674
Kendon Drive Church of The Nazarene
711 Kendon Dr, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 882-5640
South Church of The Nazarene
401 W Holmes Rd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 882-5775
Waverly Church of The Nazarene
5701 S Waverly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 882-5006
Woodview Church of The Nazarene
1500 E State Rd, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 372-7341
- NON-DENOMINATIONAL –
Calvary Christian Fellowship
1611 E Kalamazoo St, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 372-9673
Doors of Healing
900 E Mount Hope Ave, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 485-7892
Lansing Barefoot Church
2312 E Michigan Ave, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 374-8939
Liberty Christian Church
2215 E Michigan Ave, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 485-5483
Lighthouse Chapel
1501 Windsor St, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 394-2080
Lighthouse Chapel
611 Samantha Ave, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 394-2080
Trinity Church
3355 Dunckel Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 272-3820
Unity Spiritual Renaissance Ministries
230 S Holmes St, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 484-2360
Christian Reachout Center Church Inc
5628 Wise Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 887-8185
Life Changers Christian Center
3000 W Miller Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 393-9860
Faith Tabernacle of Lansing
921 W Mount Hope Ave, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 372-2240
Rivers of Life Church
3520 Brisbane Dr, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 394-0205
World Harvest Outreach
232 N Verlinden Ave, Lansing, MI 48915 (517) 367-1000
- PENTECOSTAL –
Bethlehem Temple Church of Lansing Inc
1518 S Washington Ave, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 485-4209
Christian Lansing Center Church
2024 Walmar Dr, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 323-2100
Glad Tdings Pentecostal Church of God
2202 Donora St, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 482-4659
International Harvest
2045 W Jolly Rd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 394-1645
Lansing Christian Center Church
5640 S Waverly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 646-8077
Life Christian Church
2560 Eaton Rapids Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 394-5433
On This Rock Church
924 Centennial Way, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 402-1982
Original Church Of God
1916 Olds Ave, Lansing, MI 48915 (517) 482-8834
Apostolic Bible Church-U P C I
360 Clement Rd, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 484-6490
Greater Love Apostolic Temple
505 Seymour Ave, Lansing, MI 48933 (517) 371-5890
Apostolic Word Church
227 N Capitol Ave, Lansing, MI 48933 (517) 482-8910
United Church Of God
336 Richard Ave, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 853-0738
- PRESBYTERIAN –
First Presbyterian Church Of Lansing Inc
510 W Ottawa St, Lansing, MI 48933 (517) 482-0668
First Presbyterian Church Of Lansing
211 N Chestnut St, Lansing, MI 48933 (517) 482-0668
Franklin Ave. Presbyterian Church
http://genealogytrails.com/mich/ingham/churchfranklin.html
Grace Orthodox Presbyterian Church
1301 W Wieland Rd, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 372-9343
Mount Hope Presbyterian Church
301 W Jolly Rd, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 393-2211
Presbyterian Church Usa
6100 W Michigan Ave, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 321-3569
Providence Presbyterian Church of America
Lansing, MI 48915 (517) 333-1802
Westminster Presbyterian Church
743 N Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Lansing, MI 48915 (517) 484-8433
Korean Presbyterian Church
200 W Grand River Ave, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 332-1968
North Presbyterian Church
108 W Grand River Ave, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 482-0336
- ROMAN CATHOLIC –
St. Gerard Parish Lansing, MI
www.stgerard.org/
4437 West Willow Highway, Lansing
(517) 323-2379
St. Mary Cathedral Parish at 219 Seymour Avenue, Lansing, MI 48933 ...
stmarycathedrallansing.catholicweb.com/
219 Seymour Avenue, Lansing
(517) 484-5331
http://genealogytrails.com/mich/ingham/churchstmarys.html
Church of the Resurrection
resurrectionlansing.catholicweb.com/
1531 E Michigan Ave, Lansing, Michigan
(517) 482-4749
Cristo Rey Parish Church
201 W Miller Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 394-4639
St. Casimir Catholic Parish
www.stcas.org/
815 Sparrow Avenue, Lansing
(517) 482-1346
St. Therese of Lisieux Parish
www.sttherese.org/
102 West Randolph Street, Lansing
(517) 482-0765
Immaculate Heart of Mary: Masses: Saturday 4:30 Pm Sunday 7:30 9:30 11:30 A
Telephone:(517)882-6631
www.ihmlansing.org/
3815 South Cedar Street, Lansing
(517) 393-3030
immaculateheartofmarylansing.catholicweb.com/
Resurrection Rcia Ministry
1517 E Michigan Ave, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 485-7866
St. Andrew Dung Lac
5430 S Washington Ave, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 882-8205
St. Joseph Melkite Catholic Church Parish Hall
725 W Mount Hope Ave, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 484-7230
St. Joseph Melkite Catholic Church Parish Hall
921 Westover Cir, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 327-6394
- SEVENTH DAY ADVENTISTS -
Bethel Seventh Day Adventists -Church
1120 N Pennsylvania Ave, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 484-2943
Lansing Seventh Day Adventists Church
5400 W St Joe Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 321-1963
Michigan Conference of Seventh Day Adventists
320 W Saint Joseph St, Lansing, MI 48933 (517) 316-1500
- SPIRITUALIST –
First Spiritualist Church of Lansing
611 Samantha Ave, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 882-5188
- UNITY –
Unity of Greater Lansing
240 Marshall St, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 371-3010
- UNIVERSALIST –
Universalist Church, Grand St.,
- WESLEYAN –
Faith Church
2300 Lake Lansing Rd, Lansing, MI 48912 (517) 482-8660
Willow Community Wesleyan Church
3200 W Willow St, Lansing, MI 48917 (517) 323-1832
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, East Lansing
Mason
Stockbridge
Court
http://publicrecords.onlinesearches.com/MI_Ingham.htm
Directories
- http://distantcousin.com/Directories/MI/InghamCounty/1916/
- http://www.distantcousin.com/Directories/MI/InghamCounty/1916/Mason.html
- http://www.michigan-genealogy.com/Ingham-County-City-Directories.htm
- http://books.google.com/books?id=Rk7iAAAAMAAJ&pg=PA4&lpg=PA4&dq=city+directories+ingham+county&source=bl&ots=ehFGwr8IM1&sig=S_3qBQAmgm0HICeL4ARQgfNb9qw&hl=en&sa=X&ei=GzCaUdbKLYr00QHF3YGwAQ&ved=0CC0Q6AEwADgK#v=onepage&q=city%20directories%20ingham%20county&f=false
Families
MURRAY
TURNER
TUTTLE
GILMORE
GORMAN
HOLMES
COLE
KERR
PINCKNEY
RODMAN
OVERMYER
KENT
COOK
FIELD
FELT
SHERMAN
RAY
WARNER
NORTHRUP
HAMMOND
GUILE
LESLIE
FOSTER
TERRY
- http://www.oocities.org/marioniris28601/ingham.htm
- http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~stilley/
HERRMAN / HERMANN
Stories of Lansing, Michigan Families: Shopkeepers, Soldiers, Statesmen, and One Naked Lady. It is a 160 page book (8 ½ by 11 inches) written by Mid-Michigan Genealogical Society members in 2009 for Lansing's 150th celebration. The book features chapters on the ancestors of Lansing families (i.e. , Buck, Belen, Dungey, Priggooris, Sparrow, Turner and more,
over 900 names are indexed; included are sources and photos).
Land
Local Histories
http://books.google.com/books/about/A_history_of_the_Haslett_Lake_Lansing_ar.html?id=isvhAAAAMAAJ
Maps
- Family Maps of Ingham County, Michigan (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- http://www.livgenmi.com/1895/MI/County/ingham.htm
- http://www.dnr.state.mi.us/spatialdatalibrary/pdf_maps/topomaps/county_files/ingham/ingham_topo.htm
- http://williamstowntownship.com/map.html
- http://www.historygeo.com/maplib/prjs/MI/FM_MI_Ingham.html
- http://www.michigan.gov/dnr/0,4570,7-153-54463_54466_20841-51002--,00.html
- http://24timezones.com/mapa/usa/mi_ingham/mason.htm
- http://www.historicmapworks.com/Map/US/1579352/Bunker+Hill+Township++Fitchburg++Cahdogan+Creek++Batteese+Creek/
- http://memory.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/r?ammem/gmd:@field%28NUMBER+@band%28g4114l.pm003590%29%29
- http://ingham.org/BC/hist/1859Townships/townshipsindex.htm
- Combined Ingham County Michigan 1874 and 1892 Atlas: with every name index. It is a reprint of the entire 1874 atlas by F. W. Beers & Co. and the 1895 edition of Geo. Ogle and Co. with an index of all property owners. Reprinted by the Mid-Michigan Genealogical Society.
Military
War of 1812
Civil War
- http://www.7thmichigan.us/curtenious.htm
- http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=vcsr&GSvcid=117093
- http://genealogykris.com/tag/ingham-county/
- http://occgs.com/projects/civil_war/Brownell_OrrinK.pdf
- http://www.accessgenealogy.com/scripts/data/database.cgi?file=Data&report=SingleArticle&ArticleID=0024629
- Civil War casualties, 1861-1865 - http://bc.ingham.org/Portals/BC/Historical_Commission/civilwar%20names.pdf
- Michigan Adjutant General’s Office, Records of service of Michigan Volunteers in
- the Civil War, Kalamazoo, MI: Ihling Brothers and Everard, 1905. Available at Google Books.
- Robertson, John, comp. Michigan in the War. Lansing, MI: W.S. George and Co., 1880. Available at Google Books
- 1894 Veterans census - http://www.mifamilyhistory.org/civilwar/1894VetsCensus/resultsbycounty.aspx?id=Ingham
Civil War service men from Cass County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Cass County.
- 12th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Company G
Spanish American War
- http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=vcsr&GSvcid=194182
- Spanish American War Medal Recipients http://www.michigan.gov/dnr/0,4570,7-153-54463_54475_18660-188757--,00.html
World War I - Draft Cards
World War II Casualties
Newspapers
- http://michigannewspaperhistory.pbworks.com/w/page/20854467/Ingham%20County
- http://books.google.com/books?id=VipXAAAAMAAJ&printsec=frontcover&dq=%22ingham+county%22&hl=en&sa=X&ei=wrOTUd_xAbLE4AP6ooHQAw&ved=0CGAQ6AEwCDiWAQ#v=onepage&q=%22ingham%20county%22&f=false
- http://www.michigan.gov/documents/hal/lm_AH_Newspapers_277355_7.pdf
Obituaries
- http://35.8.7.98/search~S37?/Xingham+county&searchscope=37&SORT=D/Xingham+county&searchscope=37&SORT=D&SUBKEY=ingham+county/1%2C947%2C947%2CB/frameset&FF=Xingham+county&searchscope=37&SORT=D&6%2C6%2C
- http://boards.rootsweb.com/SearchResults.aspx?db=mb&gss=ancMB&hc=10&rank=0&adv=&p=localities.northam.usa.states.michigan.counties.ingham&csn=Ingham&cst=board&gskw=obituary&psrch=on&_F00029CB=&_F00027E2=&period=&_80004003=&_F0002BF1=
- http://genealogytrails.com/mich/ingham/obit.html
- http://www.obitcentral.com/obitsearch/counties/mi-ingham.htm
Probate
Queries: Mailing Lists & Message Boards
- http://www.cousinconnect.com/p/a/101234/
- http://boards.rootsweb.com/localities.northam.usa.states.michigan.counties.ingham/mb.ashx
- http://lists.rootsweb.ancestry.com/index/usa/MI/ingham.html#MIINGHAM
- http://genforum.genealogy.com/mi/ingham/
Taxation
Vital Records
- Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
- Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
- Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897-- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
- http://www.mdch.state.mi.us/pha/osr/gendisx/search2.htm
- http://www.deathindexes.com/michigan/index.html
- http://seekingmichigan.org/tag/genealogy
- http://www.mifamilyhistory.org/RevDickey/countymarriage.aspx?county=Ingham
- http://genealogytrails.com/mich/ingham/vital.html
Societies, Archives, Libraries and Museums
Libraries & Archives
- http://www.cyndislist.com/us/mi/counties/ingham/libraries/
- Holdings at the Library of Michigan with regard to Ingham Co. http://35.8.7.98/search~S37/X?searchtype=X&searchscope=37&searcharg=ingham+county&submit.x=15&submit.y=7
- Catholic Diocese of Lansing Archives
326 W. Ionia St.
Lansing, MI 48933
517-342-2540
http://www.dioceseoflansing.org/archives
Museums
- R.E. Olds Transportation Museum
- MSU Museum
- Michigan Historical Museum
http://www.michigan.gov/dnr/0,1607,7-153-54463_18595_18596---,00.html
- Michigan Women's Hall of Fame
http://www.michiganwomenshalloffame.org/
Societies
- Daughters of the American Revolution
Lansing Chapter
http://www.lansing.michdar.net/
- Friends of Historic Meridian
P.O. Box 155
Okemos, MI 48805-0155
- Historical Society of Greater Lansing
https://www.facebook.com/groups/137660544586/
http://lansinghistory.org/wp1/
- Ingham County Genealogical Society
Post Office Box 85
Mason MI 48854-0085
http://www.ingcogenesoc.org/
Publication is Ingham County Genealogical Society Newsletter published quarterly
Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
https://www.facebook.com/icgsweb?fref=ts
- Ingham County Historical Commission
Craig Whitford, Chairperson
c/o Ingham County Board of Commissioners
P.O. Box 319
Mason, MI 48854
517-676-7200
- The Mason Area Historical Society
200 East Oak St. / POB 44
Mason, MI 48854
517-676-9837
- Michigan Historic Preservation Network
107 East Grand River Avenue
Lansing, Michigan 48906
Phone 517-371-8080
Fax 517-371-9090
Email info@mhpn.org
- Michigan Oral History Association
5580 West State Road
Lansing, MI 48906-9325
517-321-1746
- The Michigan Women's Historical Center & Hall of Fame
213 West Malcolm X Street, Lansing Michigan 48933
Phone: 517-484-1880
- Mid-Michigan Genealogical Society
PO Box 16033
Lansing MI 48910-6033
Publication is Mid Michigan Genealogical Society Newsletter published three times a year
Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mid-Michigan-Genealogical-Society/63844634435
- R.E. Olds Transportation Museum
240 Museum Drive, Lansing, MI 48933
517-372-0529
autos@reoldsmuseum.org
- Stockbridge Area Genealogical/Historical Society
- Turner-Dodge House
100 E. North Street
Lansing ,MI 48906
517-483-4220
517-483-6081 fax
- University Archives & Historical Collections (MSU)
Conrad Hall
888 Wilson Rd., Room 101
East Lansing, MI 48824
PH: 517-355-2330 • FAX: 517-353-9319 • E-mail: archives@msu.edu
State wide or ethnic groups
African American Family Research
- Fred Hart Williams Genealogical Society
c/o Burton Historical Collection, DPL
5201 Woodward Avenue
Detroit MI 48202-4007
Publication is Fred Hart Williams Genealogical Society News published twice a year
Located in Wayne County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
- http://familytreemaker.genealogy.com/users/p/h/i/Bennie-L-Phifer-iii/
- Lansing Area African American Genealogical Society
Post Office Box 22203
Lansing MI 48909-2203
http://www.laaags.org/
Publication is Newsletter published quarterly
Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
CORNISH
- Keweenaw Houghton Cornish Society of the Copper Country
http://keweenawkernewek.org
- Cornish Connection Of Lower Michigan
8494 Wesley Drive
Flushing 48433
DUTCH
FINNISH
- Finnish American Heritage Center
http://www.finlandia.edu/FAHC.html
- Genealogical Society of Flemish Americans
https://www.facebook.com/FlemishLibrary?fref=ts
FRENCH-CANADIAN (includes Acadian, Cajun and Metis)
- French-Canadian Heritage Society of Michigan
Post Office Box 1900
Royal Oak MI 48068-1900
Publication is Michigan's Habitat Heritage published quarterly
Located in Oakland County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
https://www.facebook.com/groups/109717099063919/
IRISH
- Irish Genealogical Society of Michigan
c/o Gaelic League/Irish American Club
2068 Michigan Avenue
Detroit MI 48216-1303
Publication is Irish Tree published nine times a year
Located in Wayne County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Irish-Genealogical-Society-of-Michigan/236855006444065?fref=ts
- Wayne County Irish Society
31975 Cowan
Westland 48185
ITALIAN
- Americans Of Italian Origin Society
18336 Lister E.
Detroit 48021
JEWISH
- Jewish Genealogical Society of Michigan
PO Box 251693
West Bloomfield MI 48325-1693
Publication is Generations published quarterly
Located in Oakland County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
POLISH
- Polish Genealogical Society of Michigan
c/o Burton Collection
5201 Woodward Avenue
Detroit MI 48202-4007
Publication is The Polish Eaglet published three times a year
Located in Wayne County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
- Polish Heritage Society
P.O. Box 1844
Grand Rapids 49501
SCOTTISH
- The St. Andrew's Society of Detroit
2360 Rochester Ct
Troy Mi 48083
Phone:(248) 526-1849
Fax:(248) 528-1477
Contact: kilgour@detroitscots.com
ANISHNAWBE (Chippewa / Ojibwe, Ottawa / Odawa, Potawatomi Indians)
- http://lists.rootsweb.ancestry.com/index/other/Ethnic-Native/NISHNAWBE.html
- A starting point for doing Ottawa/Odawa Indian genealogy research - https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/Ottawa_Indians
- Nokomis Learning Center
https://www.facebook.com/nokomislearningcenter?fref=ts
- Chief Okemos(p.156)
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county. http://ingham.migenweb.net/
- http://www.genealogyinc.com/michigan/ingham-county/
- http://www.epodunk.com/cgi-bin/genInfo.php?locIndex=21881
- http://genealogytrails.com/mich/ingham/
- http://www.cyndislist.com/us/mi/counties/ingham/photos/
- http://www.mifamilyhistory.org/counties/ingham.aspx
- http://www.linkpendium.com/genealogy/USA/MI/Ingham/
- http://www.genealogywise.com/group/michiganresearchgroup
- http://mi-roots.org/index.php/counties/ingham-county
- http://www.michigan-genealogy.com/Ingham-County-Genealogy.htm
- http://mygenshare.com/link_info/5954/link_display/5991/m/5934/h/false
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ingham County, Michigan page 346, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 24 May 2013, at 13:21.
- This page has been accessed 2,198 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
