Ingoldisthorpe, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Ingoldisthorpe, Norfolk
St Michael Ingoldisthorpe Norfolk.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Smithdon
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Heacham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

INGOLDISTHORPE (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Smithdon, W. division of Norfolk, 10 miles (N. E. by N.) from Lynn. [1]


Ingoldisthorpe St Michael is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich.
Ingoldisthorpe is a village and civil parish in the north-west of the English county of Norfolk. It is located approximately 9 miles (14 km) north-east of the town King's Lynn and 37 miles (60 km) from the county town of Norwich. For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ingoldisthorpe, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
Ingoldisthorpe, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1754-1837

FREG 1725-1902
1725-1901
1725-1901
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1763-1902 Undefined 1754-1810, 1813-1901 Undefined 1760-1812, 1814-1901
JOIN
1754-1837

PALL
1790-1837

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 691

Parish registers for Ingoldisthorpe Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Early parish registers usually have baptisms, marriages, and burials intermixed until 1813 when baptisms and burials were recorded on printed form registers. Marriages and marriage banns were recorded on printed form registers as early as 1754.

Baptisms, 1763-1813; burials, 1760-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1902. Marriages, 1754-1810, banns, 1754-1773, 1783-1786, 1789-1810. Marriages, 1813-1901. Burials, 1814-1901. Banns, 1823-1901. FHL BRITISH Film 2262676 Items 5 - 12

Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812

Baptisms and burials 1725-1812 Marriages 1725-1810 FHL BRITISH Film 1526810 Item 5

Parish chest records for Ingoldisthorpe

Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Rate books include names of owners, occupiers, descriptions of land and property, money valuation of land and property, and rate of payment assessed.

Valuation, 1840. Settlement examinations, 1784-1794, 1817-1826. Settlement certificates, 1777-1794, 1826. Removal orders, 1784-1794, 1817-1835. Bastardy orders, 1767, 1811-1835. Overseers' rate books, 1844-1858. Surveyors' rate book, 1858-1870. FHL BRITISH Film 2262676 Items 13 - 20
Churchwarden rate assessments, 1778-1783, 1824-1827. FHL BRITISH Film 2262698 Item 12

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.




Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 611-614. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,120 times.