Ingram, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Ingram, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ingram, Northumberland
St Michael Church Ingram Nortumberland.jpg
St Michael Church Ingram Nortumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coquetdale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Glendale PLU
Registration District Glendale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1682
Bishop's Transcripts: 1766
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rothbury
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

INGRAM (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Glendale, N. division of Coquetdale ward and of Northumberland, 5 miles (N. W.) from Whittingham; containing, with the two townships of Fawdon with Clinch and Hartside, and Reaveley,The hamlet of Greenshaw-Hill lies a little to the east of Hartside, near the road between Wooler and Morpeth. there is every reason to infer that the parish was formerly much more populous than it is at present.[1]

Additional information:

Ingram St Michael and All Angels is an extensive Ancient Parish The main church in Ingram is dedicated to St Michael. The earliest parts date to the 12th century. There was also probably a 12th century chapel at Brandon, though it was completely rebuilt before it fell into ruins. It was only the early font which suggested the 12th century date. The tower of St Michael’s church was strongly built and may have acted as a stronghold during the Scottish raids in the late medieval period, and would also have been a defence against the later Border Reivers. A small tower was also built near the church as a fortified home for the parish priest.

Other places in the parish include: Clinch, Fawdon, Fawdon, Clinch and Hartside, Hartside, Ingram, Linhope and Greenshawhill, Ingham, Linhop and Greenshawhill, and Reaveley.


'Ingbirchworth - Ingram', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 611-614. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51062 Date accessed: 06 March 2011

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Ingram, Northumberland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
INGRAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/151 Date: 1766-1878  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Ingram, St Michael and All Angels: Records of baptisms 1707-1990, marriages 1685-1992 and burials 1682-1991 are available at  Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1696-1812 and marriages 1684-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1684-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1696-1812, marriages 1684-1812 and burials 1682-1812 are available in the Local Studies Departments of Newcastle Central Library and Gateshead Central Library. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Ingram (microfiche TN71) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438891.

Poor Law Unions

Glendale Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 786 times.