Ingworth, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Ingworth, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ingworth, Norfolk
Ingworth St Lawence.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

History

INGWORTH (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, l½ mile (N.) from Aylsham. [1]

Ingworth St Lawrence is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

The conical thatched vestry was built from the stump of the original tower which collapsed in the early 1800's. The vestry dates from the 1850's remodelling of the church.

The village’s name comes from the old English for Inga’s enclosure.
Ingworth has an entry in the Domesday Book of 1085 where its , its population, land ownership and productive resources were extensively detailed In the survey Ingworth is recorded by the names of Ingewrda and Inghewurda. The main tenants being the Roger Bigot and Reynald Fitzlvo. The survey also list that there was ½ a mill. In the Domesday survey fractions, in this case ½ a mill, were used to indicate that the entry was on an estate that lay within more than one parish.

The parish of Ingworth is very small and covers an area spanning only 212 hectares. The parish has borders with three other parishes. To the north is the parish of  Erpingham, Norfolk, to the south-west is the parish of  Blickling, Norfolkand the parish of  Aylsham, Norfolk is to the south-southeast. The boundary with the parish of Blickling is indicated by the course of the River Bure which also skirts the western edge of the village.

The village has no pub, shop or post office although there is a traditional-style phone box.

Ingworth is a village and a civil parish in the district of North Norfolk for local government purposes. the nearest town is Aylsham which is 1.7 miles (2.7 km) south of the village. The village is 14.3 miles (23.0 km) north of Norwich, 7.3 miles (11.7 km) east of North Walsham and 9 miles (14 km) south-southwest of Cromer on the north Norfolk coast.

Resources

Church Records

Ingworth, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
Ingworth, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1558-1812

FREG 1600-1812
1559-1812
1600-1812
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
JOIN
1559-1812

PALL
1559-1812

This parish does not appear at FamilySearch Historical Records as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library.

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 521/ 1-6,49
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content Film
Baptisms 1600-1609, 1623-1633, 1666-1812 Marriages 1601-1607, 1628, 1666-1812 Burials 1600-1608, 1623-1633, 1666-1812 FHL BRITISH Film
1526780 Item 7

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Aylsham

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 614-620. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,583 times.