Inskip, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Inskip, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Inskip, Lancashire
St.Peter's Church Inskip Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Garstang PLU
Registration District Garstang
Records begin
Parish registers: 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: 1848
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

INSKIP (St Peter) with Sowerby, was created a district chapelry or church in 1848 in the parish of St Michael on Wyre, union of Garstang, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 4¾ miles north by northeast of Kirkham. The foundation stone of a church dedicated to St. Peter, was laid 10th June, 1847. Other places in the parish include: Sowerby. Inskip is a small village in the Fylde area of Lancashire, England. It is part of the civil parish of Inskip-with-Sowerby. The village is close to the former RNAS Inskip airfield, which site still serves the armed forces as a tri-service communication centre. The hamlet of Inskip Moss Side lies about a mile north and east of the village. There is a place of worship for Baptists here. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Inskip chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of St Michael on Wyre to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


INSKIP ST PETER Chapelry (1848) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1848-1900 1850-1900 None
LOPC 1848-1900 1850-1900 1849-1900
LBMD None 1850-1992 None
ST MICHAEL ON WYRE(ancient parish containgin INSKIP Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1662-1844 1662-1741; 1754-1901  None
LOPC 1662-1947 1662-1900 1662-1948 
FMP  None 1662-1837 None
LBMD None 1837-2006 None
AC 1659-1707 1659-1707 1659-1707


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Inskip and comprising the whole ancient parish of St Michael on Wyre to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ST MICHAEL ON WYRE PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306889.


Poor Law Unions

Garstang Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 614-620. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,633 times.