Internet ArchiveEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

The Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library with the stated mission of "universal access to all knowledge."[1][2] It offers permanent storage and access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, music, moving images, and books. The Internet Archive was founded by Brewster Kahle in 1996.

Presently, the Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages and provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities.

The Internet Archive is working to prevent the Internet - a new medium with major historical significance - and other "born-digital" materials from disappearing into the past. Collaborating with institutions including the Library of Congress and the Smithsonian, they are working to preserve a digital record for generations to come.

Contents

Wayback Machine

The Internet Archive is the location of The Wayback Machine with over 150 billion archived web pages dating back to 1996. Also, by means of funding from a grant from the Mellon Foundation, the Internet Archive completed a 2 billion page snapshot of the Internet in 2007.

Archive-It

Archive-It allows institutions to build and preserve their own web archive of digital content, through a user friendly web application, without requiring any technical expertise or hosting facilities. Subscribers can harvest, catalog, and archive their collections, and then search and browse the collections when complete. Collections are hosted at the Internet Archive data center, and accessible to the public with full text search.

Moving Images

The Internet Archive contains over 400,000 movies. They are actively seeking movies, even home movies.

Texts

The Internet Archive hosts almost 2.7 million texts. For genealogical interest, the Internet Archive has a complete digitized copy of the U.S. Census from 1790 to 1930. There are thousands of additional census records and genealogically related texts.

Audio

The Internet Archive has over 800,000 audio recordings plus another 89,000 live music concert recordings.

References

Resources

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Internet Archive

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 February 2011, at 03:41.
  • This page has been accessed 682 times.