Iping, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Iping, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Iping, Sussex
Iping St Mary West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easebourne
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Midhurst PLU
Registration District Midhurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1592
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Midhurst
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

IPING, aparish, in the union of Midhurst, hundred of Easebourne, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 3 miles (N. W. by W.) from Midhurst.[1]

Iping St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex and the chapelry of Chithurst, Sussex was formed from it. Part of the parish boundary of Iping forms the county boundary with neighbour Bramshott, Hampshire The second chapelry of the parish was built at Iping marsh in 1878.

Church histories Iping St Mary Iping Marsh Good Shepherd The small chapel of Iping Marsh was declared redundant in 1980 and later demolished.

The Parish church of St Mary Iping Lane Stedham has been designated a grade II listed building British listed building

Iping Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Iping Marsh Church of the Good Shepherd List of demolished worship places in West Sussex

See also Iping Wikipedia for the civil parish of Stedham with Iping

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Iping, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Iping, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1584-1876 1584-1876
PRTS 1584-1596, 1611-1641, 1653-1901
1584-1596, 1611-1640, 1654-1901
1584-1596, 1611-1618, 1633-1641, 1653-1898

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Iping

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.


Poor Law Unions

Midhurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Iping/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 614-620. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 September 2014, at 15:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,144 times.