Ipstones, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Ipstones, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ipstones, Staffordshire
Ipstones St Leonard Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Cheadle PLU
Registration District Cheadle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leek
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Ipstones is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1720 from chapelry in Leek, Staffordshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Foxt, Morridge, and Meeridge.

IPSTONES (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union of Cheadle, N. division of the hundred of Totmonslow and of the county of Stafford, 5 miles (S. S. E.) from Leek. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Please see Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Ipstones St Leonard parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
IPSTONES PARISH (1560) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1848-1900
1724-1900

FMP 1563-1900 1563-1900 1563-1900 1563-1900
FS 1560-1900
1560-1837

NBI

1560-1837

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1561-1934 Mar 1561-1948 Bur 1561-1942
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1673-1847 Mar 1673-1837 Bur 1673-1857


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474629.

Poor Law Unions

Cheadle Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 614-620. Date accessed: 30 October 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  6. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 00:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,481 times.