Iredell County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
North Carolina
Iredell County
Guide to Iredell County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Iredell County, North Carolina | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of North Carolina | |||||||||
![]() Location of North Carolina in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | November 3, 1788 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Statesville | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Iredell County Courthouse
221 East Water St
P O Box 904
Statesville, NC 28677
Phone: 704-872-7468
(Courthouse Burned in 1854)
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and death, burial and land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce records from 1820 and court records from 1788[1]
History
Parent County
1788--Iredell County was created 3 November 1788 from Rowan County.
County seat: Statesville [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1852, 1854--Courthouse fires destroyed many court records.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Barium Springs
Mooresville
Statesville (county seat)
Troutman
Union Grove
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
IREDELL MEMORIAL GARDENS
OAKWOOD CEMETERY
Census
For tips on accessing Iredell County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
Church Records
Baptist
- Grassy Nob. Constituted 1789.[3]
Presbyterian
- Centre Church, Mount Mourne, N.C. Organized 1765.[4] Originally known as the Osbourne Meeting House and located in Rowan County.
- Fourth Creek Church, Statesville, N.C. Organized about 1750.[5] Originally located in Rowan County.
Court
Directories
- Statesville: 1910
Genealogy
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Bibliography
- [Templeton] Templeton, Ronald H. "Possible North Carolina/South Carolina Templeton Relationships," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 35, No. 3 (Summer 2007):123-130. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 35 Presents discoveries of previously unknown kinships based on the Templeton DNA study.
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- -4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- -7th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- -11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
Newspapers
- Iredell County people in NC Newspapers - name listing of people from the county as located in misc. newspaper articles; time span varies. Articles indexed in the NC People in the Papers database.
- Iredell County newspapers - a listing of newspapers published in the county & libraries that hold them; via the Library of Congress. If you find a paper of interest on microfilm, you may be able to request it via Interlibrary Loan with your local public library.
- Statesville Record and Landmark - current newspaper of Statesville
- Mooresville Tribune - another current paper
Probate
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Iredell County, North Carolina Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1790-1965 - Will Books 1 to 19 (1790-1965) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
Taxation
Vital Records
Marriages
- 1893-1934 - Iredell County Marriage Index 1893-1934 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[6]
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Lake Norman North Carolina Family History Center (Mooresville)
- Statesville North Carolina Family History Center
Web Sites
- Iredell County, NCGenWeb - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iredell County, North Carolina. Page 510 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:565. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ "Centre Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ "Fourth Creek Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.
| This North Carolina-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 May 2013, at 15:53.
- This page has been accessed 2,711 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


