Ireland Jewish RecordsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Synagogues

Ireland has only a few Jewish synagogues. Jewish records have been deposited in the Irish Jewish Museum. The museum contains records from synagogues and from Jewish communal institutions. These records include registrations of births, marriages, and deaths. For more information about these records, write the museum at the following address:

Irish Jewish Museum
3/4 Walworth Road
South Circular Road
Dublin 8
IRELAND (EIRE)
Internet: http://www.eecs.tufts.edu/~zblocker/ijm/

Vital Records

The collection of the Family History Library has very few records of birth, marriage or deaths of the Irish Jews. However, in his book,The Jews of Ireland from earliest times to 1910, Louis Hyman has included a transcript of the register of births and deaths (1820-1879) of the Dublin Hebrew Congregation.

Collections

Many records of the Irish Jews have been added to the Knowles Collection: the Jews of the British Isles. These records include birth, marriage, death, census records and burial records. This database, which links people together in families, is contiually being added to and is freely searchable.

Irish Jewish Roots ($) is an online database with almost 50,000 compiled records who have lived in Ireland between 1700 and today. Searching by name is free; it will cost to see the record.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2014, at 00:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,610 times.