Iron County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Iron County

Guide to Iron County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Iron County, Missouri
Map
Map of Missouri highlighting Iron County
Location in the state of Missouri
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 17, 1857
County Seat Ironton
Courthouse
Ironton Missouri.jpg
Address Iron County Courthouse
250 S Main Street
PO Box 42
Ironton, MO 63650
Phone 573.546.2912
Iron County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



County Clerk has birth records 1883-1885, marriage, divorce, probate and land records[1]


History

The unusual shape of Iron County, Missouri, according to Goodspeed's 1888 History of Southeast Missouri, resulted from the difficulty inherent in creating the county. Land was taken from six other counties in order to form Iron County, but it became a challenge to accomplish this without reducing the size of those counties below their constitutional limits.

Iron County derives its name from its prevalence of iron ore. The county is located in a part of southeast Missouri that at one time was important as a mining center.

The county court first met 4 Aug 1857 at Arcadia. That was when Iron County was subdivided into the townships of Dent, Kaolin, Iron, Pilot Knob, Arcadia, Liberty, and Union.

The county is home to Pilot Knob, known as the site of Fort Davidson. This is where a significant Civil War battle, the Battle of Pilot Knob, took place in 1864.

For more about the history of Iron County, Missouri, see:

Parent County

1857--Iron County was created by a legislative act of 17 February 1857 from Dent, Madison, Reynolds, St. Francois Washington, and Wayne Counties.  County seat: Ironton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

In addition, see:

Neighboring Counties

Crawford  • Dent  • Madison  • Reynolds  • St. Francois  • Washington  • Wayne

Madison CountyIron CountyCarter CountyReynolds CountyShannon CountyWayne CountyHowell CountyTexas CountyDent CountyPhelps CountyBollinger CountyWashington CountyJefferson CountySt. Francois CountyCrawford CountySte. Genevieve CountyMOIron.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Pilot Knob Mountain, Iron County, Missouri

Census

  • The Iron County Genealogical Society has surname indexes for the 1860-1930 Federal Censuses.
  • The U.S. GenWeb Archives website has the following transcriptions:
1860 Mortality Schedules - partial listing for Iron County
1890 Special Census - transcription for Iron County of the names of Civil War Union veterans and widows of veterans enumerated in the 1890 Veterans Schedules, also known as the 1890 Special Census.

  • The 1910-1930 Federal censuses for Iron County are covered in the following three books:
Iron County, Missouri 1910 Census. WorldCat.
1920 Iron County, Missouri Census. WorldCat.
1930 Iron County, Missouri Census. WorldCat.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Hogan Settlement

Lutheran
  • Lohman, Marcine. Immanuel Ev. Lutheran Church of Pilot Knob, Missouri, Iron County, 1861-1931. Firestone, CO: Self-published, 2007?. WorldCat page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Iron County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Moiron.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Iron County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Iron County, Missouri:


- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)
- 24th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 30th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 12th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 12th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 12th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company M
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company L
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company M
- 68th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 68th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 68th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 68th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 68th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company L
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 8th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 8th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company L
- 8th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company L

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War Battle was fought in Iron County

Map showing Civil War battles in Missouri

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Iron County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Current newspapers
Historic newspapers

Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Schools

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Iron County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Iron County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Iron County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Iron County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Iron County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Iron County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iron County, Missouri. Page 401 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August 2012)
  4. Cite error: Invalid <ref> tag; no text was provided for refs named vr

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 19:12.
  • This page has been accessed 21,390 times.