Ironville, NottinghamshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
This parish is mostly in the county of Derbyshire. For more information and records, see Ironville, Derbyshire.
IRONVILLE, a village in Alfreton parish, Derby; and a chapelry partly also in Pentrich parish and Codnor-Park extra-parochial tract, Derby, and Selston parish, Notts. The inhabitants are employed chiefly in iron works.
SELSTON, a village and a parish in Basford district, Notts. The parish contains also the hamlets of Bagthorpe and Underwood. There are chapels for Calvinists, Baptists, and Primitive Methodists.
Ironville is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, partly in Nottinghamshire and partly in Derbyshire; created in 1850 from Selston with Underwood and Westwood Ancient Parish (Nottinghamshire) and parts of Codnor and Loscoe Ecclesiastical Parish, Pentrich Ancient Parish, Riddings Ecclesiastical Parish and Codnor Park extra-parochial (All Derbyshire); .
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Lichfield Record Office has deposited
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 428907. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 7 December 2013, at 19:26.
- This page has been accessed 360 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More