Irwin County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Irwin County, Georgia)

United States Gotoarrow.png Georgia Gotoarrow.png Irwin County

Guide to Irwin County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records


Irwin County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Irwin County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 15, 1818
County Seat Hettinger
Courthouse
Address Irwin County Courthouse
207 S Irwin Avenue
PO Box 186
Ocilla, GA 31774-1098
Phone: 229.468.5356
Irwin County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Irwin County Courthouse
207 S Irwin Avenue
PO Box 186
Ocilla, GA 31774-1098
Phone: 229.468.5356

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, land and court records from 1821 and military records from 1900. Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and burial records from 1920 and probate records from 1850.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
301 S. Irwin Avenue, Suite 103
Ocilla, GA 31774
Telephone: (229) 468-5356
Fax: (229) 468-9753

Probate Court of Irwin County
301 S. Irwin Avenue
Ocilla, GA 31774
Telephone: 229-468-5138
Fax: 229-468-5702

Beginning Dates for Irwin County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1920
1920
1920

1821
1850

History

Parent County

1818--Irwin County was created 15 December 1818 from Creek Indian Lands.
County seat: Ocilla[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported loss or damage.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ben Hill County  • Berrien County  • Coffee County  • Tift County  • Turner County

Irwin CountyCoffee CountyJeff Davis CountyWheeler CountyTelfair CountyBen Hill CountyDodge CountyWilcox CountyCrisp CountySumter CountyLee CountyTurner CountyTift CountyWorth CountyColquitt CountyCook CountyBerrien CountyLanier CountyClinch CountyWare CountyAtkinson CountyGAIrwin.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

  • Jefferey, Alice, ed. Irwin County, Georgia Census, 1900 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 2000. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Irwin County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Clements, J. B. History of Irwin County. Atlanta, Ga.: Foote & Davies Co., c1932. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Gairwin.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Irwin County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Irwin County, Georgia Genealogy:




- 49th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 61st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project  (other war's information is also given)


  • Clements, J. B. 1978. History of Irwin County. Spartanburg, S.C.: Reprint Co. (page 117-128)  975.8855 H2c
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Irwin County). 1965. Indigent confederate soldiers and widows, (transcribed), 1890-1920; confederate pension rolls, 1895-1924. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 394627
  • Irwin County (Georgia). Court of Ordinary. 1997. Application for soldier pension records, 1815-1915. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 2074693 item 3

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Irwin County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records

1828 - 1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $ 1699 - 1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $

  • 1835-1874 - Irwin County Marriage Index 1835-1874. Batch M713081 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1873-1901 - Irwin County Marriage Index 1873-1901. Batch M713082 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records

1919 - 1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $

  • 1849-50, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Irwin County, Georgia Genealogy Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Irwin County, Georgia. Page 156 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 37-38. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2015, at 16:28.
  • This page has been accessed 8,725 times.