Isanti County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Isanti County

Guide to Isanti County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Isanti County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Isanti County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 13, 1857
County Seat Cambridge
Courthouse
Address Isanti County Courthouse
555 18th Ave SW
Cambridge, MN 55008
Phone: 763.689.1191
Isanti County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


Clerk Distroct Court has birth records from 1869,
marriage rec from 1871, death records from 1873,
burial records 1900-1908 and 1941-1979,
divorce and court records from 1872 and probatre
records from 1892.
County Recorder has land records. [1]

History

Parent County

  • 1857--Isanti County was created 13 February 1857 from Ramsey County.  County seat: Cambridge [2]
  • For a brief history of how Isanti County was named, click here, then select Isanti County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Fire damages treasure trove of Isanti County history
dateline: July 11, 2011

Arson destroyed about 70 percent of the archives kept in the historical society building. The society is now seeking donations.

Article by: NORMAN DRAPER , Star Tribune

Arson destroyed about 70 percent of the archives kept in the historical society building. The society is now seeking donations. hide

The Isanti County Historical Society building was consumed by flames on Friday.

Photo: Andy Fiedler, Special to the Star Tribune

An arson fire that destroyed the Isanti County Historical Society building in Cambridge on Friday did potentially irreparable damage to a treasure trove -- church records, school yearbooks, family histories, wartime scrapbooks, cemetery records, plat maps from the 1800s, military uniforms, even sewing machines.

"This was a place where you could have found what church and school your great-great-grandparents belonged to," historical society board member Kurt Daudt, who is also a Republican state representative, said Sunday. "You could have found where the family homestead was."

Kathy McCully, the society's executive director, estimated that 70 percent of the building's archives and artifacts collection was destroyed, either by flames or the water used to put them out.

The fire was set in a recycling bin next to the building's outside wall and then spread up the wall into the attic, Daudt said. It was one of several that investigators from the Isanti County Sheriff's Office and the state fire marshal's office believe were set by arsonists in the Cambridge area early Friday. A $2,500 reward is being offered for information leading to the arrest and conviction of those responsible.

Investigators see no connection between the fires and the state government shutdown, which has left state parks and other facilities unsupervised and vulnerable to vandalism. The county historical society is not connected to state government; however, specialists in disaster recovery from the Minnesota Historical Society, which is closed, received special permission to help out with recovery and restoration.

On Saturday, workers spent 12 hours going through what remained of the building. Water-damaged items were wrapped in freezer paper, inventoried and placed in a freezer truck. They will be freeze-dried before being returned to the society, which will decide whether to keep or toss them.

"They have to be frozen because mold will begin to form within 48 hours," McCully said. Insurance should help with putting up a new structure, but the society is taking donations of money and items.

"If people can donate some photos, any school records, cemetery records, plat books, newspapers, anything in the county -- we lost almost everything," said volunteer former society president Tesha Pettit. "It's going to be awhile before we start collecting big items [such as bicycles] again, but things we can put in file folders, we're going to start collecting right away."

HOW YOU CAN HELP

To donate, call Tesha Pettit at 651-248-8972 or go to the Isanti County Historical Society website or Facebook page.

(source: http://www.startribune.com/local/north/125314573.html Star Tribune)

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Braham | Cambridge | Isanti

Townships

Athens Township | Bradford Township | Cambridge Township | Dalbo Township | Isanti Township | Maple Ridge Township | North Branch Township | Oxford Township | Spencer Brook Township | Springvale Township | Stanchfield Township | Stanford Township | Wyanett Township

Unincorporated Communities

Andree | Athens | Blomford | Bodum | Bradford | Carmody | Crown | Dalbo | Day | Edgewood | Elm Park | Grandy | Oxlip | Pine Brook | Spencer Brook | Springvale | Stanley | Stanchfield | Stanford | Walbo | Weber | West Point | Wyanett

 

 

 

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.

Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the Family History Library Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Isanti – LAND AND PROPERTY

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Isanti County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnisanti.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Isanti County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Isanti County, Minnesota page 364, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 August 2013, at 16:16.
  • This page has been accessed 4,632 times.