Isfield, SussexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Isfield, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Uckfield PLU|
|Parish registers: 1570|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1667|
|Rural Deanery||South Malling|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
ISFIELD (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Uckfield, hundred of Loxfield-Dorset, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 3¼ miles (S. W.) from Uckfield.
Isfield St Margaret of Antioch is an Ancient Parish in the Wealden district of East Sussex
A history of the church and parish Isfield St Margaret of Antioch
The Parish church of St Margaret has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Uckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
The Register Office
Phone 01323 464780
Fax 01323 431386
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Isfield
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464162.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:30.
- This page has been accessed 1,391 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More