Isleworth, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Middlesex Gotoarrow.png  Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes


Isleworth, Middlesex family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptism, christening, marriage, and burial records), civil registration (birth, marriage, and death records), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.

Isleworth, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Isleworth
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Brentford PLU
Registration District Brentford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1768; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

'Isleworth, a village, a parish, a sub-district, and a hundred in County Middlesex, 1 mile southwest of Brentford. See also the villages, hamlets and towns of Brentford-End, Smallbury-Green, Whitton-Dean, Wyke-Green, and part of Hounslow Town. These places comprise the following Church of England chapelries:

  • All Saints, Isleworth - 1566
  • All Souls, Northcote Rd, Isleworth - 1898
  • St John's, Isleworth - 1856
  • St Margarets on Thames, Isleworth - 1860
  • St Mary's, Spring Grove, Osterley - 1856
  • St Mary the Virgin, Worton Rd, Isleworth -
  • Hounslow (part of) - 1708

Other denominational churches built here, included ones for Independents, Wesleyans Methodists, Quakers, and Roman Catholics.'[1]

The Victoria County History of Heston and Isleworth (1962) is available online. It includes a history of land ownership, manors, estates, markets and fairs, mills, economic and social history, local government, churches, Roman Catholicism, Protestant nonconformity, other denominations, schools, and charities.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Isleworth All Saints Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
1566
.
Images
1715-1769, 1800-1813 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1830 Ancestry[4] 1800-1830 Ancestry[5] 1813-1830 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1813-1852 FamilySearch[7] 1566-1837 FindMyPast[8]
1566-1837 BritishOrigins[9]
1813-1875 FamilySearch[10]
1813-1837 BritishOrigins[11]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438775.

1666 Hearth Tax


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records

Records survive for Worton Manor (1435-1467) in Isleworth Parish. The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (Edinburgh: A, Fullerton and Co., 1870). Online here.
  2. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 3: Shepperton, Staines, Stanwell, Sunbury, Teddington, Heston and Isleworth, Twickenham, Cowley, Cranford, West Drayton, Greenford, Hanwell, Harefield and Harlington (1962), pp. 85-139. URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=85 Date accessed: 27 March 2012.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as All Saints, Isleworth in Hounslow Borough and Isleworth in Hounslow Borough. Marriages from 1800 to 1813 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Isleworth All Saints in Hounslow Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Isleworth All Saints in Houslow Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Isleworth All Saints in Hounslow Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. Batch C042261, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  8. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  9. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  10. Batch M042261, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  11. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Middlesex parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 17 September 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:36.
  • This page has been accessed 6,492 times.