Islington, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Islington, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Islington, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Freebridge-Marsh-Land
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Wisbech PLU
Registration District Wisbeach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lynn
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ISLINGTON (St. Mary), with Tilney, a parish, in the union of Wisbech, hundred of FreebridgeMarshland, W. division of Norfolk, 3¾ miles (S. W. by W) from Lynn. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Islington, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
Islington, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1908
1600-1927
1600-1927
JOIN
1668-1810

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438858.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 623-628. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014. Described as 'Tilney cum Islington St Mary.'
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 October 2014, at 03:53.
  • This page has been accessed 597 times.