Islington Holy Trinity, Cloudesley Square, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes

Islington Holy Trinity, Cloudesley Square, Middlesex family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptism, christening, marriage, and burial records), civil registration (birth, marriage, and death records), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.

Islington Holy Trinity, Cloudesley Square, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Finsbury Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Islington PLU
Registration District Islington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1829
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Islington ,Holy Trinity, Cloudesley Sequare; a chapel of ease.  St-Stephen New North road; St. Peter, Riverlane; Christchurch, Highbury; St. James, Lower Holloway; St. Clement, Barnsbury; St. Luke, West Holloway; St-Philip, Arlingtonsquare; St. John, Upper Holloway; St. Mark, Tollington Park; St-Mary, Hornsey-Rise; St. Paul, Ballspond; and St. John Baptist, Gloucester road; St Matthew, Essex road; with Rosemary-Branch chapel; St-Jude, Mildmay Park.[1]

Holy Trinity, Cloudesley Square Islington was built in the year 1831 as a chapel of ease. It lay within the civil parish boundaries of St Mary Islington.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Islington Holy Trinity, Cloudesley Square, Middlesex Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Images
Indexes 1813-1837 BritishOrigins[2]
1830-1837 BritishOrigins[3]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438780.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Islington on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 5 February 2014.
  2. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Middlesex parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 17 September 2012.
  3. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 October 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 3,131 times.