Islington St Mary, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes

Guide to Islington St Mary, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Islington St Mary, Middlesex
Stmarysislington.jpg
St Marys Islington
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Finsbury Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Islington PLU
Registration District Islington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

'Islington St. Mary, a suburban parish, in the parliamentary borough of Finsbury, Finsbury division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, 1½ mile north of London.'[1]

There were a considerable number of Church of England chapelries that were built--especially in the 19th Century to accomodate the influx of a large local population. Here is a "Comprehensive List of Islington Chapels and District Churches" by the year 1900. 

There were places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans Mrthodists, Presbyterians, Irvingites, Baptists, and a Roman Catholic chapel. [2] [3]

The Victoria County History of Islington (1985) is available online. It includes chapters on manors, estates, economic history, local government, churches, Roman Catholicism, Protestant nonconformity, Established church of Scotland, missions, Moslems, Hindus, Judaism, education, and charities for the poor.[4]

Church records

Online Islington St Mary Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1557
1557
1557
Images
1557-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[5]
1752-1906 Ancestry[6] 1754-1921 Ancestry[7] 1813-1888 Ancestry[8]
Indexes     1800-1814 Ancestry[9]    
1830-1837 findmypast[10]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438780.

1666 Hearth Tax
1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records

Records survive for six manors in Islington Parish: Barnsbury Manor (1633-1856), Canonbury Manor (1468-1902), Clerkenwell Manor (1400-1895), Islington Prebend Manor (1573-1900), Newington Barrow (1422-1877), and St John of Jerusalem Manor (1602-1926). The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.


Here is a Comprehensive List of Islington Chapels and District Churches as of 1900.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Islington on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel Lewis, ed. " Chinley - Chiswick," In A Topographical Dictionary of England 623-628. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here, (accessed: 18 May 2010). Adapted.
  2. *Lewis, Samuel. The History and Topography of the Parish of Saint Mary, Islington, in the County of Middlesex. London, 1852. Digital version at Google Books.
  3. *Nelson, John. The History, Topography, and Antiquities of the Parish of St. Mary Islington, in the County of Middlesex. London, 1811. Digital version at Google Books.
  4. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 8: Islington, Stoke Newington (1985). URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=30 Date accessed: 25 March 2012.
  5. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary, Islington in Islington Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Islington St Mary in Islington Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Islington St Mary in Islington Borough. Partially indexed.
  8. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Islington St Mary in Islington Borough. Partially indexed.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  10. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012. May pertain to another Islington parish.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:55.
  • This page has been accessed 8,803 times.