Itawamba County, MississippiEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Itawamba County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Mississippi Gotoarrow.png Itawamba County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records


Itawamba County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Itawamba County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 9 February, 1836
County Seat Fulton
Courthouse
Courthouse itawamba County Mississippi.jpg
Address Itawamba County Courthouse
201 W Main St; PO Box 776;
Fulton, MS 38843
Phone: 662.862.3421Itawamba County Courthouse]


Contents

County Courthouse

Itawamba County Courthouse
201 W Main St; PO Box 776;
Fulton, MS 38843
Phone: 662.862.3421

Clerk Chancery Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records. [1]

Beginning Dates for Itawamba County, Mississippi Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate






History

The Itawamba County Courthouse was built ca. 1852 with a major redesign during 1972.

Parent County

1836--Itawamba County was created 9 February 1836 from the Chickasaw Cession.
County seat: Fulton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Over the years, lands in Itawamba County were transferred to three different counties – Tishomingo, Prentiss and Lee. Lee County, formerly embraced within the limits of Itawamba and Pontotoc counties, was established October 26, 1866 with the largest portion of its land coming from Itawamba County (a strip ten miles wide off western Itawamba County, from north to south). The old Itawamba lands east of the line between Ranges 5 and Ranges 6 (old Itawamba-Pontotoc county line) for ten miles went to the new county. This included many old Itawamba County towns such as Baldwyn, Guntown, Saltillo, Tupelo, Verona and Shannon.

On April 15, 1870, Tishomingo County was split into three counties – Alcorn, Prentiss and Tishomingo. At this time a strip running east to west three miles wide along the northern border of Itawamba went to the counties of Tishomingo and Prentiss. The former Itawamba County lands going to Tishomingo County included thirty square miles. The former Itawamba County lands going to Prentiss County included thirty-six square miles

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

  • Fulton
  • Mantachie
  • Tremont

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Itawamba County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Itawamba County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
  • Men from Itawamba County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Itawamba County. 
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Johnston's)
Company B - Mooresville Darts
Company I - Rifle Scouts
Company K - Mississippi Yankee Hunters
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
Company B - Ben Bullard Rifles
10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (New)
Company C - Ben Bullard Rifles [also listed as Co. D]
Company G - Fulton Guards [also listed as Co. B]
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company E - Mooresville Blues
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company C – Town Creek Riflemen
Company E – Calhoun Rifles
- 3rd Battalion, Mississippi Cavalry (Ashcraft's)
Company A - Davis’ Company
Company D - Kohlheim’s Company
Company E - Story’s Company
Company F - Hankins’ Company
- 3rd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry
Company B - Insurgents
- 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company B - Griffin’s Company
- 6th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company B - Brown’s Company
Company C - Pardue’s Company
- 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's)
Company F - Shackelford’s Company
- 8th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry (formerly 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's)
Company F - Shackelford’s Company
Company G - Duke’s Company, aka Duke’s Company of Independent Scouts

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Itawamba County, Mississippi newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Itawamba County, Mississippi Clerk of Court and are housed at the Itawamba County, Mississippi Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
Marriage
  • 1837-1853 - Itawamba County Marriage Books 1 thru 4 Index 1837-1853. Batch M516941 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1853-1877 - Itawamba County Marriage Books 5 thru 7 Index 1853-1877. Batch M516942 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1877-1887 - Itawamba County Marriage Books 8 and 9 Index 1877-1887. Batches M516943 and M516944 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1887-1893 - Itawamba County Marriage Books 10 and 11 Index 1887-1893. Batch M516945 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1893-1910 - Itawamba County Marriage Books 12 and 13 Index 1893-1910. Batch M516946 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1910-1917 - Itawamba County Marriage Books 14 and 15 Index 1910-1917. Batch M748504 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1902-1909 - Itawamba County Marriage Books 2 and 3 Index 1902-1909. Batch M748494 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

The Itawamba Historical Society,

PO Box 7, Mantachie, MS 38855

(Telephone: 662-282-7664)

The George Poteet History Center, a state-of-the-art 2,400 square foot facility located at the corner of Church Street and Museum Drive in Mantachie, houses the Itawamba Historical Society's Gordon McFerrin Auditorium. Also located in this facility are the society's general offices and the Gaither Spradling Research Library. 

The library's holdings include more than 1,600 volumes of research material devoted not only to Itawamba County, but most all southern states as well. The society subscribes to more than 30 regional genealogical publications. The library's collections also includes general history and general genealogical areas a large microform collection, archival materials and family history files.

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Itawamba County, Mississippi page 380, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/b/be/Igimississippij.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:21.
  • This page has been accessed 12,027 times.