Itchen Abbas, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Itchen Abbas

Guide to Itchen Abbas, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Itchen Abbas, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bountsborough
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Winchester PLU
Registration District Winchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1586
Bishop's Transcripts: 1736
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alresford
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ITCHIN-ABBAS (St. John), a parish, in the union of Winchester, hundred of Bountisborough, Winchester and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 3½ miles (W. N. W.) from Alresford.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Itchen Abbas, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
ITCHEN ABBAS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288803.

Genealogy

Burge, Mary.  The Hall Family of Winchester.  A pedigree chart beginning with Henry Hall death  in 1755-1966. Covers area of Alresford, and Winchester, and London. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XII,no.2, August 1985, page 81, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v12

Pearce, Jeanette and Tomlinson, Jane. Bignell's Cottage Itchen Abbas.  The Will of George Bignell 1717 shows that for the next two hundred years the Bignells lived in Itchen Abbas.  Tells of some of the relatives, and their occupations.  A drawing of Church of St. John, where the family were regular church goers, and gave funds for repairs.There is also a drawing of the date stone on the wall of the Bignell Cottage, and also details of the farm. Copy of the advertisement in October  1949 of the Auction for Bignell Cottage.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XV,no.2, August 1988 pages 97-99, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 623-628.Date accessed: 11 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 April 2014, at 15:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,534 times.