Ivychurch, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Ivychurch, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ivychurch, Kent
Ivychurch St George Kent.jpg
Ivychurch St George Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Romney Marsh Liberty
County Kent
Poor Law Union Romney Marsh PLU
Registration District Romney Marsh
Records begin
Parish registers: 1715
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

IVY-CHURCH (St. George), a parish, in the hundred of Martin-Pountney, union and liberty of Romney-Marsh, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 3 miles (N. W.) from New Romney. [1]
Ivychurch is a village and civil parish in the Shepway district of Kent, see Ivychurch Wikipedia in Romney Marsh, 3 miles west of new Romney.

Ivychurch St George is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury and is known locally as "The Cathedral of the Marsh" due to the size of the church A church near you

The church of St George, Ashford Road, Ivychurch has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 400-406 British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Romney Marsh Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ivychurch, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[6]
Ivychurch, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1715-1911
1715-1836
1715-1813
FREG 1750-1911
1754-1899

MIDK 1754-1911

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at

Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX

is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives


See also England, Kent, Parish Chest (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Bishops Transcripts, Ivychurch, St George from 1564-1812
Missing: 1565/66-1575/76; 1579/80-1582/83; 1584/85; 1585/86; 1587/88-1592/93; 1596/97-1602/03; 1604/05-1610/11; 1613/14; 1621/22; 1627/28; 1640/41-1662/63; 1666/67; 1669/70; 1690/91

Location Canterbury Cathedral Archives reference CCA-DCb-B/T/1/128

Baptisms: 1813-68, 1870-73, 1875-85
Marriages: 1813-38
Burials: 1813-68, 1870-73, 1875-85
Date 1813-1885
Location Canterbury Cathedral Archives reference CCA-DCb-B/T/2/159

Kent Archives CKS-TR3579/1
Marriage Index for Romney Marsh Parishes Alphabetical index of marriages taking place in Romney Marsh parishes, extracted from registers held at the Centre for Kentish Studies

Parishes covered
Brenzett, Brookland, Burmarsh, Dymchurch, Fairfield, Hope All Saints, Ivychurch, Lydd, New Romney, Newchurch, Old Romney, Snargate , Snave and St Mary in the Marsh. Marriages were no longer solemnized at Fairfield after 1853 and there is only one entry in the register for Hope All Saints.

Ivychurch 1756-1812 P203/1/1
1815-1836 P203/1/3
Banns 1839-1899 P203/1/4

 

Land Tax

Images for Appledore, Brookland and Ivychurch are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

These are derived from the 1987 Kent Archives reference Q/RPL/195

Land tax assessments for Ivychurch, Appledore, and Brookland, 1780- 1831 Family History Library BRITISH Film 1470106 Item 9

See Edward Hasted 'The hundred of St Martins Pountney: Introduction', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 399-400 at British History Online

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306873.

FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.

The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved.
Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.

Poor Law Unions

Romney Marsh Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 628-631. Date Accessed: 15 August, 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2014, at 15:39.
  • This page has been accessed 2,280 times.