Izard County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Izard County

Guide to Izard County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Izard County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Izard County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 27, 1825
County Seat Melbourne
Courthouse
Address Izard County Courthouse
PO Box 327;
Melbourne, AR 726556
Phone: 870.368.4328

Contents

County Courthouse

Izard County Courthouse
PO Box 327;
Melbourne, AR 726556
Phone: 870.368.4328

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1889.[1]

Beginning years for Izard County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1889 1914* 1889 1889 1889
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

County seat: Melbourne [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog'

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Baxter  • Fulton  • Independence  • Sharp  • Stone

Izard CountyFulton CountySharp CountyIndependence CountyStone CountyBaxter CountySearcy CountyMarion CountyRandolph CountyHowell CountyOregon CountyOzark CountyDouglas CountyWright CountyTexas CountyShannon CountyARIzard.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Izard County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records vary greatly, depending upon the the record keepers and beliefs of the church. They may give: a member's dates of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information, maiden name; and death date. For more information, see Arkansas Church Records.

See also [[{{{1}}} County, Arkansas Genealogy#Towns and Townships|Towns and Townships]] to search the FamilySearch Catalog for records not listed at the county level.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can 1) place an ancestor in a particular location, 2) provide economic information, 3) reveal family relationships and more.

After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse in the form of deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, and others.

See Arkansas Land and Property for more about online collections and early Arkansas land grants and patents from the government to private ownership.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief [[{{{1}}} County, Arkansas Genealogy#History Timeline|Timeline History of the county]]. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also [[{{{1}}} County, Arkansas Genealogy#Towns and Townships|Towns and Townships]] to search the FamilySearch Catalog for records not listed at the county level.

  • Izard County, Arkansas. Salt Lake City, Utah : Digitized by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2014.
  • Izard County, Arkansas.Vol 2 Salt Lake City, Utah : Digitized by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2014.
  • Shannon, Karr. A history of Izard County, Arkansas. Little Rock, Arkansas : Democrat Print. and Lithographing Co., c1947.
  • Osage hunted in the area prior to an 1808 treaty, and Shawnee also lived in the White River valley until 1833.
  • 1802 - John Lafferty, a native of Ireland, traveled up the White River.
  • 1810 - Lafferty and his family established the county’s first settlement at Lafferty Creek.
  • 1825 October 27 - Izard County established.
  • 1800s (early) - Keelboats began bringing settlers up the White River.
  • 1860 - The 1860 census shows only five foreign-born residents in Izard County: four from Ireland and one from Germany. Those not born in the county came primarily from Tennessee, the Carolinas, and a few from Kentucky and Mississippi.
  • 1870s (mid) - After the Civil War, many people starved in Izard County, resorting to eating grass and bark.
  • 1910-1960 - The population of Izard County hit a high (14,500) in 1910 and a low (6,700) in 1960. In 2010 the population was 13,700.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Izard County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Izard County, Arkansas:

- 7th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate) [4]
- 14th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Powers') (Confederate)
- 27th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company C (new), Companies G, H and I
- 38th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[5], Company A


World War II

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Izard County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate2.JPG

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1889-1949 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds and letters 1889-1949; Guardian bonds and letters 1889-1946; Probate records 1889-1930; Wills 1889-1942.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Izard County, Arkansas
Rootsweb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Izard County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Izard County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Izard County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Izard County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 68.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Desmond Walls Allen, The Seventh Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988) FHL book 976.7 M22adw
  5. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:22.
  • This page has been accessed 11,700 times.