Jackson County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Jackson County

Guide to Jackson County, Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Jackson County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 13, 1819
County Seat Scottsboro
Courthouse
Jackson County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Jackson County Courthouse
102 Laurel St.
Scottsboro, AL 35768
Phone:(256) 574-9320 County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Probate Judge has marriage records from 1851,
probate records from 1850,
land records from 1835 and 1900 Civil War Vets list;
Clerk Circuit Court has court records from 1920
and divorce records from 1895; 
County Health Department has birth and death records;
 Public library has cemetery records [1]

History

Andrew Jackson.JPG

The county is named after War of 1812 hero Andrew Jackson (1767-1845) who became Seventh President of the United States in 1829.[2]

Parent County

1819--Jackson County was created 13 December 1819 from the Cherokee Cession of 1816.
County seat: Scottsboro [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Fire.png
Dale County had destructive courthouse fires in 1864, and 1920. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide  pages 27-28 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[4]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Bridgeport Higdon Paint Rock Section
Bryant Hollywood Pisgah Skyline
Dutton Hytop Pleasant Groves Stevenson
Flat Rock Langston Scottsboro Woodville

Neighboring Counties

Aljackson.jpg

Resources

Bible Records

Bibles of the Edmonds, Flowers, Green, Hembree, Hunt (3), Jenkins, Keeble, Kirby (2), Larkin, Lindsay, McKelvy, Price, and Stewart families were published in Volume 1 of Jackson County Alabama Records by Christine P. Sumner, which is available online at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Volume 2 includes Bibles of the Acklen, Caperton, Cotton, Harris, Hunt, Lewis, Smith, and Woosley families. It is also available online at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Biography

  • Northern Alabama, Historical and Biographical. Birmingham, Ala.: Smith and De Land, 1888. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Jackson County, Alabama begins on page 92.

Cemeteries


  • Douthat, James L. Guntersville Reservoir Cemeteries. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press. Free surname index and publisher's bookstore at Mountain Press.
  • Sumner, Christine P. Jackson County Alabama Records. Vol. 1. Scottsboro, Ala., 1971. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Beech Grove Cemetery, Kirkpatrick Cemetery, Smith Cemetery, Travis Cemetery, and Union Cemetery.
  • Sumner, Christine P. Jackson County Alabama Records. Vol. 2. Scottsboro, Ala., 1972. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Dodson Family Cemetery and Larkin Cemetery.

Census

Jackson County, Alabama
Year Pop.  %±
1820 8,751
1830 12,700 45.1%
1840 15,715 23.7%
1850 14,088 −10.4%
1860 18,283 29.8%
1870 19,410 6.2%
1880 25,114 29.4%
1890 28,026 11.6%
1900 30,508 8.9%
1910 32,918 7.9%
1920 35,864 8.9%
1930 36,881 2.8%
1940 41,802 13.3%
1950 38,998 −6.7%
1960 36,681 −5.9%
1970 39,202 6.9%
1980 51,407 31.1%
1990 47,796 −7.0%
2000 53,926 12.8%
2010 53,227 −1.3%
For tips on accessing Jackson County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Baptist

Minutes of the Union Primitive Baptist Church (Woodville, Ala.) from 1840 to 1842 were published in Volume 1 of Jackson County Alabama Records, available online at FamilySearch Books Online - free. (Begins on page 74.)

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Jackson County, Alabama see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Jackson County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.195 E7b.

Many early Jackson County land entries (starting in 1830) were published in Volume 2 of Jackson County Alabama Records by Christine P. Sumner, which is available online at FamilySearch Books Online - free. (Begins on page 1.)

For recent deeds, check: Probate Court Land Index

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Jackson County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Kennamer, John Robert. History of Jackson County. Winchester, Tenn.: Press of Southern Print. and Pub. Co., 1935. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

 Military

Civil War 

Civil War service men from Jackson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Jackson County.

- 2nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- 4th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry (Russell's), Company E and G
- 4th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K(Larkinsville Guards)
- 6th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F [subsequently, Company K]
- 6th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I "Raccoon Roughs" [subsequently, Company D]
- 7th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G
- 9th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B "Railroad Guards"
- 12th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Comapny G "North Alabama Sharpshooters"
- 49th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C
- 50th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C, formerly Company F, 2nd Battalion



  • Blevins, Jerry. Sequatchie Valley Soldiers in the Civil War: Bledsoe, Grundy, Marion and Sequatchie Counties in Tennessee and Jackson County in Alabama. Huntsville, Ala.: J. Blevins, 1990. FHL Book 976.87 M2b.

A list of individuals who appear on the 1907 CSA Soldiers Census was published in Volume 2 of Jackson County Alabama Records by Christine P. Sumner, which is available online at FamilySearch Books Online - free. (Begins on page 23.)

Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Abstracts of The Bellefonte Courier (1839), The Jackson County Herald (1868), The Era & Star (1873), The Scottsboro Citizen (1879-1880, 1917), The Jackson County Sentinel (1932-1933, 1937), and The Progressive Age (1937) were published in:

  • 1839-1937 (gaps) - Caver, Larry E. Abstracts from Alabama Newspapers, Volume II: Limestone County, Madison County, Marshall County, Jackson County. Carrollton, Miss.: Pioneer Publishing Co., 2007. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Jackson County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Jackson County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Early will books were destroyed in a fire. Will Book K, which begins in the mid-1850s, is the earliest Jackson County will book that survives. A portion of it was published in Volume 2 of Jackson County Alabama Records by Christine P. Sumner, which is available online at FamilySearch Books Online - free. (Begins on page 16.)

  • 1830-1976 - Jackson County, Alabama Probate Records, 1830-1976 at FamilySearch - free.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Jackson County is in District 3.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
  • 1892-1896 - Jackson County Birth Index 1892-1896. Batch C593285 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1914-1917 - Jackson County Birth Index 1914-1917. Batch C593286 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1800, 1833, 1851-1901, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1851–1900 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920"at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
  • 1892 - Jackson County Death Index 1892. Batch B593286 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1892-1896 - Jackson County Death Index 1892-1896. Batch B745799 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1914-1917 - Jackson County Death Index 1914-1917. Batch B593288 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Vital Record Substitutes

A free collection of obituaries and death notices from various funeral homes in the Jackson County area has been put together by GenealogyBuffs.com:

Societies and Libraries

Family History Center

Jackson County Alabama Genealogy Websites

Jackson County Alabama Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jackson County p. 37. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Jackson County, Alabama," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 27-28. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/06/Igialabamadj.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:11.
  • This page has been accessed 54,969 times.