Jackson County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Jackson County

Guide to Jackson County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Jackson County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Jackson County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 5, 1829
County Seat Newport
Courthouse
Address Jackson County Courthouse
208 Main Street
Newport, AR 7212
Phone: 870.523.7420



Contents

County Courthouse

Jackson County Courthouse
208 Main Street
Newport, AR 7212
Phone: 870.523.7420

County Clerk has marriage records from 1843 and probate records from 1845; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records from 1845 and land records.[1]

Beginning years for Jackson County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1843 1914* 1845 1845 1845
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Andrew Jackson.JPG

The county is named after President Andrew Jackson (1767-1845).[3]

Parent County

  • 1829--Jackson County was created 5 November 1829 from Independence County. 
    County seat: Newport [4]

Boundary Changes

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Craighead  • Cross  • Independence  • Lawrence  • Poinsett  • White  • Woodruff

Jackson CountyWoodruff CountyPrairie CountyWhite CountyCleburne CountyIndependence CountyIzard CountySharp CountyLawrence CountyGreene CountyCraighead CountyPoinsett CountyCross CountySt. Francis CountyCrittenden CountyMonroe CountyLonoke CountyPulaski CountyStone CountyRandolph CountyARJackson.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Jackson County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Jackson County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County at The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture.

  • Native Americans called this area home as far back as 10,000 years ago.
  • 1760-1800 - French and Spanish trappers hunted in what would become Jackson County.
  • 1822 - Early explorer Obediah Cartwright and his Indian guide, Leauteau, explored what would later be known as Jack’s Creek at the future town of Jacksonport.
  • 1829 November 5 - Jackson County was created.
  • 1829 - Because no towns existed in Jackson County, the first county seat was at the house of early pioneer Thomas Wideman, the house being about centrally located in the county.
  • 1930-2010 - The population of Jackson County hit its high mark in 1930 (27,900) and has gone down to a present (2010) count of 17,900.

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Jackson County on page 191.]
Civil War
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate)[5], Company D
- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Volunteers (Confederate), Company A
- 7th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)[6]
- 31st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)[7], Companies A, B and H
- 45th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate) [8]
- Ford's Battalion, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company C
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[9], Companies G and I

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1830-1945 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian dockets 1879-1887; Administration bonds 1846-1861; Administration bonds and letters 1858-1913; County Court records 1830-1843 and 1858-1862; Dockets 1850-1882; Executor records 1863-1945; Guardian bonds and letters 1885-1898 and 1920; Probate case files 1835-1890; Probate records 1836-1886; Wills 1845-1928.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Online Tax Records

Tax Records on Microfilm

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Arkansas Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Template:AR Vital Records More

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Jackson County, Arkansas
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Jackson County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Jackson County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Jackson County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Jackson County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 68.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. "List of counties in Arkansas," Wikipedia.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Desmond Walls Allen, First Arkansas Confederate Mounted Rifles, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 2. FHL book 976.7 M2a
  6. Desmond Walls Allen, The Seventh Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988) FHL book 976.7 M22adw
  7. Ronald R. Bass, History of the Thirty-first Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1996), p. 12 FHL book 976.7 M2ba
  8. Desmond Walls Allen, Forty-fifth Arkansas Confederate Calvary, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 1. FHL book 976.7 M2af
  9. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.
  11. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 August 2014, at 20:15.
  • This page has been accessed 11,736 times.